Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report ...
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Opiola, Promes join MSR softball league

Adara Opiola and Marissa Promes, a pair of outstanding softball players during their high school careers, have joined the new Iowa Women's Softball League for this summer.

Opiola, currently a freshman at Northern Iowa, was a three-time all-state selection during her prep days at Iowa City West, where she finished with 32 home runs, 195 RBIs and a .464 career batting average.

Opiola finished her career at Iowa City West in 2016 by hitting .479 with 11 homers and 64 RBIs and was named first team all-state for the third consecutive year.


Opiola has played sparingly at Northern Iowa this season. She has appeared in six games and is hitting .200 with one RBI.

Promes, now a sophomore at Indian Hills Community College, was a star pitcher at Greene County High School and Jefferson/Scranton during her  prep days. She compiled a glossy 72-13 record in high school with 723 strikeouts in 759.1 innings pitched.


Promes also swung the bat in high school and hit .419 as a sophomore in 2013. She was a three-time all-state selection and made the all-tournament team at the state tournament as a junior and senior.

Promes has a 4-4 record and 3.61 ERA at Indian Hills this season. She went 11-7 with a 3.48 ERA as a freshman in 2016.

There are now 39 players in the program, which has been formed by the Metro Sports Report as the only summer collegiate fast-pitch softball league in Iowa. The goal is to have four teams with 12 or 13 players apiece, so we're getting close.

All told, 18 different colleges have at least one player in the league. The list includes Kirkwood, UNI, Coe, Mount Mercy, Luther, Wartburg, Waldorf, Illinois State, Indian Hills, Loras, South Dakota State, Upper Iowa, DMACC, Western Illinois, Southeastern Community College, Indiana State, Ellsworth and Webster.

Kirkwood has the most players in the program with eight. There are five players from UNI and four from Coe.

In addition, the 39 players hail from 30 different high schools. Solon leads the way with four former Spartans in the program and Kennedy has three graduates in the league.

The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All  of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

Here are the 39 players who have joined so far:

1.  Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
2.  Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
3.  Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
4.  Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
5.  Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
6.  Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
7.  Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
8.  Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
9.  Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)
16. Alyssa Wiebel, Illinois State (Benton)
17. Monika Bevans, Kirkwood (Solon)
18. Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State (Solon)
19. Erin Drahozal, Upper Iowa (Xavier)
20. Emily Ira, Western Illinois (Solon)
21. Sydney Robertson, DMACC (Vinton-Shellsburg)
22. Lexi Ferrari, Kirkwood (Alleman Catholic)
23. DoniRae Mayhew, Kirkwood (Bettendorf)
24. Morgan Christner, Illinois State (New London)
25. Paige Timmerman, Luther (CR Kennedy)
26. Megan Kublik, Kirkwood (Wilton)
27. Morgan Smith, Southeastern CC (Davenport North)
28. Gabi Carter, Indiana State (Kirkwood/CR Prairie)
29. Taylor Bell, Waldorf (Madrid)
30. Brittney Roby, Northern Iowa (DMACC/Twin Cedars)
31. Brooke Craig, Northern Iowa (Waterloo Columbus)
32. Abbie Young, Ellsworth (AGWSR)
33. Hannah Onken, Wartburg (Greene County)
34. Kasiah Ehresman, Coe (Lynnville-Sully)
35. Bradi Yost, Ellsworth (Aplington-Parkersburg)
36. Jaclyn Spencer, UNI (Waterloo West)
37. Chelsea Thornley, Webster University (Clinton, Mo.)
38. Adara Opiola, UNI (Iowa City West)
39. Marissa Promes, Indian Hills (Greene County)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if they have not finalized their plans for this summer. The $100 player fee will be refunded if they  are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

The Metro Sports Report hopes all players will attend all of the  games, but the company will certainly understand if a player needs to  miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

The league will use a continuous batting order with free defensive  substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible  for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more  information at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All anyone has to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors for the Iowa Women's Softball League are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and Hawkeye Convenience Stores. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.

Last Updated ( Thursday, 06 April 2017 05:07 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!