Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Ableman, Strother tabbed for swim Hall

Cedar Rapids Washington graduates Randy Abelman and Jon Strother will be inducted into the Iowa Swim Coaches Hall of Fame during the boys state meet in Marshalltown Feb. 12.

Abelman (Class of 1977) was a two-time prep diving champion and a four-time All-American at the University of Iowa, where he enjoyed a record-setting career. He was NCAA champion in the 1-meter springboard in 1981. He was a member of the 1980 U.S. Olympic diving team that did not compete in Moscow because of a boycott ordered by President Jimmy Carter. He also was on the U.S. National team from 1978-84. Ableman is the diving coach at the University of Miami (Fla.) and has been named the NCAA Diving Coach of the Year nine times.

Strother (Class of 1994) is the only Iowa high school swimmer in the 72-year history of the state meet to win gold medals in two relays for four straight years, helping Washington win four state titles in a row.

Abelman and Strother are the only two inductees into the Iowa Swim Coaches Hall of Fame this year.

Last Updated ( Friday, 04 February 2011 16:00 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!