Bach family rules at Independence meet

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 26 September 2015 21:58 -

INDEPENDENCE - First Center Point, now Independence.

The Bach siblings have done it again.

Marion High School senior Madison Bach won the 37th Annual Mustang Invitational on Saturday in Independence and led the Indians to the team championship. Then her brother Myles, a sophomore, captured his varsity race and led Marion to the boys title as well.

The Bachs did the same thing Tuesday at the Center Point-Urbana Invitational, winning individual crowns and leading their teams to the championships.

Madison Bach covered the 5K course in 19 minutes, 29 seconds for a 28-second victory over Felicity Traylor of South Winn. Marion won the girls championship with 44 points, with South Winn a distant second at 85.

Andrea Ertz finished fifth for Marion and Hallie Kephart was sixth.

Myles Bach won his 5K race in 16 minutes, 44 seconds. Jeremy Fopma placed third for the Indians and Jacob Manderscheid was ninth.

Marion won the boys title with 41 points. Dike-New Hartford finished a distant second with 99 points.

GIRLS RESULTS

Bach family rules at Independence meet

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 26 September 2015 21:58 -

Team standings

1. Marion 44, 2. South Winn 85, 3. North Linn 87, 4. Elkader Central 107, 5. Starmont 124, 6. Dike-New Hartford 149, 7. Crestwood 182, 8. West Delaware 221, 9. Maquoketa Valley 260, 10. Independence 261, 11. Dyersville Beckman 265.

Marion - 1. Madison Bach 19:29, 5. Andrea Ertz 20:37, 6. Hallie Kephart 20:38, 15. Avery Manderscheid 21:29, 17. Kelsi Huhndorf 21:34, 22. Mia Laube 21:42, 32. Ellie Conzette 22:04.

BOYS RESULTS

Team standings

1. Marion 41, 2. Dike-New Hartford 99, 3. Elkader Central 108, 4. Waterloo Columbus 135, 5. South Winn 136, 6. Independence 139, 7. Crestwood 167, 8. Starmont 177, 9. West Delaware 182, 10. North Linn 196, 11. Maquoketa Valley 326, 12. East Buchanan 328, 13. Dyersville Beckman.

Marion - 1. Myles Bach 16:44, 3. Jeremy Fopma 16:53., 9. Jacob Manderscheid 17:59, 11. Nick Ward 18:03, 17. Salem Snoop 18:29, 33. Harrison Vanderlinden 19:04.