Hogg, Nzoyisaba run 1-2 at district meet

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 20 October 2011 20:02 - Last Updated Thursday, 20 October 2011 22:37

CEDAR FALLS - Robert Hogg and Etienne Nzoyisaba led the way Thursday with an impressive 1-2 finish as Cedar Rapids Washington qualified for the state cross country meet.

Hogg won the Class 4A district title at Birdsall Park in 16 minutes, 10 seconds and Nzoyisaba finished a tick later as the Warriors placed second in the team standings behind Cedar Falls.

Washington had five runners finish in the top-14 with Laurent Hakizimana in 10th place, Joe Berry 12th and Jon Rockwell 14th.

Cedar Falls won the team championship with 28 points. Washington placed second with 39 markers. Dubuque Senior finished a distant third with 101 points.

The top-3 teams and top-10 individuals qualified for the state meet in Fort Dodge on Oct. 29.

Kennedy finished fifth in the team standings. Kennedy freshman Ryan Walker placed 11th in 16:49 and missed qualifying for the state tournament by two seconds. Jefferson finished in seventh place in the nine-team meet.

TEAM STANDINGS

1. Cedar Falls 28, 2. Washington 39, 3. Dubuque Senior 101, 4. Dubuque Hempstead 105, 5. Kennedy 136, 6. Waterloo West 164, 7. Jefferson 174, 8. Mason City 195, 9. Waterloo East 290.

TOP 10 INDIVIDUALS

1. Robert Hogg, Washington	16:10
2. Etienne Nzoyisaba, Washingto	n 16:11
3. Matthew Adrian, Cedar Falls	16:17
4. Adam Streicher, Cedar Falls	16:18
5. Jaime Zarate, Cedar Falls	16:32
6. Kody Fitzjerrells, Dubuque Sr.	16:35
7. Mitch Hammer, Cedar Falls	16:35
8. Calvin Daack, Hempstead	16:43
9. Timothy Sevcik, Cedar Falls	16:44
10. Laurent Hakizimana, Washington 16:47	

Hogg, Nzoyisaba run 1-2 at district meet

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 20 October 2011 20:02 - Last Updated Thursday, 20 October 2011 22:37

WASHINGTON - 1. Robert Hogg 16:10, 2. Etienne Nzoyisaba 16:11, 10. Laurent Hakizimana 16:47, 12. Joe Berry 16:51, 14. Jon Rockwell 17:02, 23. Matt Wittman 17:27, 28. Trevor Luebe 17:37.

KENNEDY - 11. Ryan Walker 16:49, 16. Trevor Oates 17:07, 30. Austin Trotter 17:49, 37. Matthew Stevens 18:15, 42. Zach Grobstich 18:32, 45. Evan Couch 18:44, 47. Seth Kirkegaard 18:48.

JEFFERSON - 18. Taylor Mueller 17:10, 31. Eric Jones 17:52, 38. Devin Stone 18:17, 43. Ky Kramer 18:37, 44. Jason Chung 18:44, 51. Tyler Boesenberg 19:07, 57. Maverick Guyer 20:02.