## Beyer named captain of INA football team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 25 November 2015 00:03 -

Cedar Rapids Kennedy senior Shaun Beyer has been named the captain of the Class 4A all-state football team by the Iowa Newspaper Association.

Beyer starred as a receiver, running back, punter and linebacker for the Cougars, who reached the championship game of the state playoffs for the first time in school history and finished with a 13-1 record.

A total of 19 players from Metro teams were saluted on the INA honors squads.

Kennedy had five first-team selections with Mason Jacobs (offensive line), Tyler Dralle (running back), Beyer (utility), Dalles Jacobus (defensive line) and Austin Coates (defensive back). O'Rien Vance of Washington was named a first-team linebacker.

The Washington Warriors had four second-team choices with Isaiah Nimmers (wide receiver), Aries Davis (offensive line), Tavian Patrick (running back) and Dallas Hobbs (defensive line). Kennedy had two second-team picks with Jackson Coker (offensive line) and Johnson Mator (linebacker). Valentino Green of Jefferson was named second team all-state as a defensive back.

The Prairie Hawks landed two spots on the Class 4A third team with Jalen Rima (wide receiver) and Tyler Nunemaker (punter). Dallas McFarland of Linn-Mar (offensive line), Rane Weiland of Washington (defensive line) and Tavian Rashed of Jefferson (linebacker) also were honored on the third team.

Maliki Wilson of Xavier was a second-team selection in Class 3A as a running back.