## Coaches pick Stokes, Dawson 1st team all state

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 07 March 2011 12:03 - Last Updated Monday, 07 March 2011 12:35

Kiah Stokes from Linn-Mar and Tia Dawson from Washington have been named to the Class 4A first team all-state girls basketball team announced Monday by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association (IGCA).

Stokes and Dawson led their respective teams to the state tournament. Stokes' team lost in the semifinals, Dawson's in the first round.

Stokes led the state in scoring with a 25.0 average, and was second in rebounding (14.9) and blocked shots (141). She set the career state record for blocked shots with 515. Stokes is a top candidate for the Miss Basketball Award that will be announced Tuesday. She also has signed to play college basketball at two-time defending NCAA champion Connecticut.

Dawson saved her best game for last. She scored 27 points and grabbed 14 rebounds in the Warriors' 67-58 first round tournament loss to Iowa City West. She averaged 12 points, 10 rebounds and blocked 91 shots. Dawson is bound for Dartmouth.

State champion Des Moines East had two members of the first team -- Markisha Wright and Shronda Butts. Virginia Johnson of Iowa City High and Ally Disterhoft of Iowa City West, Sioux City North's Brittni Donaldson and Southeast Polk's Caitlin Ingle also were named to the first team.

Des Moines East's Sam Powell was named coach of the Year. The Scarlets finished 26-0.

**IGCA ALL-STATE TEAMS** 

Class 4A

First Team

## Coaches pick Stokes, Dawson 1st team all state

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 07 March 2011 12:03 - Last Updated Monday, 07 March 2011 12:35

Kiah Stokes, Linn-Mar Shronda Butts, Des Moines East Virginia Johnson, Iowa City High Markisha Wright, Des Moines East Brittni Donaldson, Sioux City North Caitlin Ingle, Southeast Polk Ally Disterhoft, Iowa City West Tia Dawson, Cedar Rapids Washington

Second Team
Maddie Manning, Ankeny
Jayden Spencer, Waterloo West
Jadda Buckley, Mason City
Kyley Simmons, Lewis Central, Council Bluffs
Stacy Clark, Pleasant Valley
Nijay Gaines, Des Moines East
Whitney Van Wyk, Southeast Polk
Mckenzie Piper, Iowa City West

Third Team
Maggie McCelland, Valley, West Des Moines
Jordan Johnston, Waterloo West
Laura Brewer, Waukee
Lizzy Stachon, Dowling Catholic, West Des Moines
Sharnae Lamar, Des Moines East
Jordan Gillenwater, Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln
Summer Gordon, Sioux City North
Megan Hayes, Bettendorf

4A Coach of the Year – Sam Powell, Des Moines East

Class 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A teams in pdf>>