

The awards from a great high school basketball career continue to be reaped by Linn-Mar's Kiah Stokes. The latest is the ultimate honor a senior girls basketball player in Iowa can receive.

Stokes has been named Miss Iowa Basketball by the Iowa Newspaper Association, the INA announced Tuesday. She was voted the honor by a panel of sportswriters from newspapers across the state.

Stokes is the first player from Linn-Mar and the fifth from a Metro high school to win the award, which has been presented annually since 1981. She is only the second Metro athlete to win the award since the entire state switched to playing five-player basketball in 1994. Kennedy's Anne O'Neil won in 2000. The other three Metro winners all came from Jefferson -- Karen Schulte in 1993, Kate Galligan in 1992 and Lisa Becker in 1982.

Stokes led the state in scoring with a 25.0 average and was second in rebounding, averaging 14.9. She also was second in blocked shots with 141. She holds the state record for career blocked shots with 515 and finished No. 4 on the career rebound list with 1,239. She also scored 1,704 points.

Stokes also was named to the INA Class 4A all-state first team, her third such honor is as many days. She was named to the Des Moines Register all-state team Sunday and to the Iowa Girls Coaches Association (IGCA) first team Monday.

Last month Stokes was named a McDonald's All-American.

Joining Stokes on the INA Class 4A first team are Washington's Tia Dawson, Virginia Johnson from Iowa City High, Ally Disterhoft of Iowa City West, Markisha Wright and Shronda Butts from state champion Des Moines East, Brittni Donaldson of Sioux City North and Maddie Manning

Stokes is Miss Iowa Basketball

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 08 March 2011 06:25 - Last Updated Thursday, 10 March 2011 00:21

from Ankeny.

Dawson, who is headed to Dartmouth, also was named to the IGCA first team. She averaged 12 points and 10 rebounds per game, and blocked 91 shots. She played the best game of her career in her last game, scoring 27 points and grabbing 14 rebounds in a 67-58 loss to lowa City West in the state tournament quarterfinals.

Kennedy junior Courtney Strait, who led the Cougars in scoring with a 15.7 average, was a third team selection.

INA All-State Teams

Class 4A

First Team
Kiah Stokes, Linn-Mar
Virginia Johnson, Iowa City High
Markisha Wright, Des Moines East
Brittni Donaldson, Sioux City North
Shronda Butts, Des Moines East
Ally Disterhoft, Iowa City West
Maddie Manning, Ankeny
Tia Dawson, C.R. Washington

Second Team

Jadyn Spencer, Waterloo West; Megan Hayes, Bettendorf; Nijay Gaines, Des Moines East; Kyley Simmons, Lewis Central; Jadda Buckley, Mason City; Caitlin Ingle, Southeast Polk; Mckenzie Piper, Iowa City West; Lizzy Stachon, WDM Dowling.

Third Team

Summer Gordon, SC North; Jordan Gillenwater, CB Abraham Lincoln; Stacy Clark, Pleasant Valley; Jordan Johnston, Waterloo West; Leti Lerma, Muscatine; Payton Strawser, Pleasant

Stokes is Miss Iowa Basketball

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 08 March 2011 06:25 - Last Updated Thursday, 10 March 2011 00:21

Valley; Laura Brewer, Waukee; Courtney Strait, C.R. Kennedy.

Class 3A

First Team
Taylor Greenfield, Ballard
Taylor Dicus, Mount Vernon
Jen Keitel, DeWitt Central
Lindsay Smith, DeWitt Central
Laura TerHark, Algona
Ashton Yossi, Dallas Center-Grimes
K.J. Veldman, Spirit Lake
Mackenzie Bigbee, Williamsburg

Second Team

Madison Baier, South Tama; Melissa Youngblut, Davenport Assumption; Betsy Thomas, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Madison Weekly, Benton Community; Sammy Jensen, Ballard; Cassidy Breon, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Alexis Conaway, MOC-Floyd Valley; Taylor Shull, Mount Pleasant.

Third Team

Amanda Platte, Mount Vernon; Aftin Phyfe, Waverly-Shell Rock; Morgan Lucy, Glenwood; Becca DeHaan, MOC-Floyd Valley; Abby Lasher, Charles City; Danielle Moore, Davenport Assumption; Jacie White, Harlan; Claire Till, Dubuque Wahlert.

Class 2A

First Team
Maddie Oliver, Roland-Story
Kaylee Blake, IKM-Manning
Katlyn Kragt, Sioux Center
Jessie Pauley, OA-BCIG
Karen Hutson, Logan-Magnolia
Becca Pennington, Mount Ayr
Alyssa Johnson, Estherville-Lincoln Central

Stokes is Miss Iowa Basketball

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 08 March 2011 06:25 - Last Updated Thursday, 10 March 2011 00:21

Maggie Marnin, West Central Valley

Second Team

Madi Drees, Carroll Kuemper; Abbie Wooten, Maquoketa Valley; Leah Miller, Lawton-Bronson; Jordan Henninsen, Alta-Aurelia; Emily Kirchner, Estherville-Lincoln Central; Morgan VanDerSloot, OA-BCIG; Shannon Waring, North Linn; Megan Pieters, AGWSR.

Third Team

Ashton Moody, Hinton; Maci Robcoltman, West Fork; Kaitlin Floerchinger, Treynor; Jasmine Schelhaas, Pella Christian; Olivia Sulentic, Truro I-35; Holly Halstead, Hudson; Brooke Stahlberg, Monticello; Ashley Zobel, OA-BCIG.

Class 1A

First Team
Mackenzie Morrison, Martensdale-St. Marys
Kadie Subbert, Stanton
Kailey Kladivo, North Tama
Kalli Richardson, NE Hamilton
Amber Quick, Lamoni
Paige Daugherty, Bellevue Marquette
Jessice Balek, Mason City Newman
Erica Dreckman, MMC

Second Team

Megan Gilbert, Tripoli; Katie Denlinger, Coon Rapids-Bayard; Aimee Osborne, Sidney; Sarah Mallen, West Hancock; Sam Norris, Martensdale-St. Marys; Paige Heesch, WCLT; Melissa Greve, Ar-We-Va; Amber Goraczkowski, North Kossuth.

Third Team

Katie Isenhower, Clinton Prince of Peace; Caila Raymond, Bedford; Dani Kock, Ar-We-Va; Mallory Boyle, North Mahaska; Kelcie Bormann, Preston; Courtney Burr, Lone Tree; Brianna James, Lynnville-Sully; Whitney Vander Maten, Boyden-Hull.

MISS IOWA BASKETBALL

2011	Kiah	Stokes.	Linn-l	Mar
------	------	---------	--------	-----

2010--Carli Tritz, Sioux City Heelan

2009-Amanda Zimmerman, Ballard

2008--Jennifer Jorgensen, Southeast Webster-Grand

2007--Kelsey Bolte, Battle Creek-Ida Grove

2006--Shellie Mossman, Carroll

2005--Wendy Ausdemore, Tri-Center

2004--Jamie Boyd, Underwood

2003--Deb Remmerde, Rock Valley

2002--Linda Sayavongchanh, Des Moines Lincoln

2001--Stephanie Rich, Washington

2000--Anne O'Neil, Cedar Rapids Kennedy

1999--Nina Smith, Waterloo West

1998--Sara Stribe, Carroll

1997--Randi Peterson, Cedar Falls

1996--Tammi Blackstone, Cherokee

1995--Amy Herrig, Dubuque Senior

1994--Alison Lucy, Treynor

1993--(6)--Lisa Brinkmeyer, Hubbard-Radcliffe

1993--(5)--Karen Schulte, Cedar Rapids Jefferson

1992--(6)--Missy Miller, Colo-Nesco

1992--(5)--Kate Galligan, Cedar Rapids Jefferson

1991--(6)--Stacey Paskert, Emmetsburg

1991--(5)--Barb Franke, Cedar Falls

1990--(6)--Shelby Petersen, Graettinger

1990--(5)--Michelle Nason, Iowa City High

1989--Molly Goodenbour, Waterloo West

1988--Molly Tideback, Waterloo Columbus

1987--Lynne Lorenzen, Ventura

1986--Jenni Fitzgerald, North Scott

1985--Kris Huffman, Fort Dodge

1984--Roxanne Wellner, Vinton-Shellsburg

1982--Lisa Becker, Cedar Rapids Jefferson

1981--Connie Yori, Ankeny