Jeffery tops All-Metro wrestling team

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 28 February 2014 14:30 - Last Updated Friday, 28 February 2014 14:31



Linn-Mar state champion Alijah Jeffery has been named the Athlete of the Year on the 2014 All-Metro wrestling team, selected by the Metro wrestling coaches.

Jeffery won the 120-pound title at the state meet last week. He was the only state champion from the Metro area this year.

Blake Williams of Prairie was named the Coach of the Year on the All-Metro team.

Linn-Mar claimed five of the 14 spots on the first team with Jeffery (120), Damon Griffin (126), Ross Lembeck (152), Andrew Holladay (195) and Sam Nowak (220).

Xavier had four spots on the first team with Clint Lembeck (132), Nick Drahozal (145), Sean Ickes (170) and Cole Turner (285).

Prairie had two first-team selections with Josh Wenger (138) and Skyler St. John (160). Jefferson also had two picks with Brenden Baker (106) and Josh Allen (182). Nolan Hrmidko (113) of Kennedy also made the top unit.

ALL-METRO WRESTLING

Second Team

- 106 Marcus England (Prairie)
- 113 Noah Ajram (Linn-Mar)
- 120 Sam Uthoff (Prairie)
- 126 Logen Rodriguez (Kennedy)
- 132 Matt Wempen (Linn-Mar)
- 138 Trey Schuler (Washington)
- 145 Tavian Rashed (Jefferson)

Jeffery tops All-Metro wrestling team

Written by Metro Sports Report

Friday, 28 February 2014 14:30 - Last Updated Friday, 28 February 2014 14:31

- 152 Trey Blaha (Prairie)
- 160 Shea Hartzler (Linn-Mar)
- 170 Nick Hogan (Prairie)
- 182 Jarod Cadena (Prairie)
- 195 Jesse Hynek (Prairie)
- 220 William Orr (Jefferson)
- 220 Jonah Manson (Prairie)
- 285 Dalton Kuehl (Jefferson)

Honorable Mention

- 106 Jeff Vipond (Xavier)
- 113 Joseph Sibomana (Jefferson)
- 113 Dylan Kleinschmidt (Prairie)
- 120 Kyle Briggs (Jefferson)
- 126 Zack Fiser (Prairie)
- 132 Seth Wennermark (Prairie)
- 132 Michael Moncivais (Jefferson)
- 138 Matt Culver (Jefferson)
- 138 Colin Conway (Marion)
- 145 Toby Northrup (Linn-Mar)
- 145 Taylor Mehmen (Prairie)
- 152 Kelly May (Jefferson)
- 160 Luke Sedlacek (Jefferson)
- 170 Nick Dreckman (Jefferson)
- 195 Erik Hovey (Jefferson)
- 285 Dallas McFarland (Linn-Mar)