Thursday, 19 February 2015 12:37 - Last Updated Thursday, 19 February 2015 18:22



DES MOINES - The 25 Metro wrestlers who are competing in the Class 3A state tournament compiled a respectable 14-11 record in the first round Thursday morning at Wells Fargo Arena.

Cedar Rapids Prairie had a 5-4 record in the first round and stands in third place in the team standings with 22.5 points, trailing Southeast Polk (39.5) and Bettendorf (26.5).

Jefferson went 4-4 in the first round and is tied for ninth with 13 points.

All four of Linn-Mar's wrestlers won their opening-round bouts. The Lions are tied for 16th place with 10 points.

Kennedy went 1-2 in the first round. Clint Lembeck, the only entrant for Xavier, lost in the first round.

Marcus England, Sam Uthoff, Josh Wenger, Jarod Cadena and Taylor Mehmen captured their first-round matches and advanced to the quarterfinals Friday morning for Prairie. Trenten Wennermark, Dylan Kleinschmidt, Seth Wennermark and Tyler Pasker lost in the first round for the Hawks.

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 19 February 2015 12:37 - Last Updated Thursday, 19 February 2015 18:22

Trenten Wennermark, Seth Wennermark and Pasker won their first-round consolation match are will continue in the wrestle-backs Friday. Kleinschmidt lost his second match and was eliminated.

Brenden Baker, Luke Sedlacek, Kelly May and Dalton Kuehl won their first-round matches for Jefferson. Zach Main, Joseph Sibomana, Kyle Briggs and Tavian Rashed lost in the first round. Briggs rebounded with a victory in the wrestle-backs, but Main, Sibomana and Rashed lost their second bouts and were eliminated.

The Linn-Mar Lions enjoyed a perfect round Thursday morning with Noah Ajram, Matt Wempen, Toby Northrup and Shea Hartzler all advancing to the quarterfinals without a blemish.

Nolan Hrmidko won his opener for Kennedy and advanced. Ben Sarasin and Dalles Jacobus lost in the first round for the Cougars, but both won their wrestle-back and will compete on Friday.

Lembeck won his wrestle-back for Xavier to stay alive in the tournament.



CLASS 3A STATE WRESTLING TOURNAMENT Team Standings

Southeast Polk 39.5, 2. Bettendorf 26.5, 3. Prairie 22.5, 4. Fort Dodge 22, 5. North Scott 17,
 Pleasant Valley 16, 7. Fort Madison 15.5, 8. Hempstead 13, 9. (tie) Jefferson 13, lowa City West 13, West Des Moines Valley 13. 12. (tie) Ankeny Centennial 12, Keokuk 12, Waverly-Shell Rock 12, 15.

Dowling 11.5, 16. (tie) Linn-Mar 10,

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 19 February 2015 12:37 - Last Updated Thursday, 19 February 2015 18:22

Council Bluffs Jefferson 10, Western Dubuque 10, Johnson 10, Oskaloosa 10.

First Round Results **Prairie**

Marcus England (106) pinned Steve Stych (Centennial), 1:13
Trenten Wennermark (113) pinned by Aaron Stumpf (IC West), 1:05
Dylan Kleinschmidt (120) pinned by Erik Bimbaum (Fort Dodge), 3:48
Sam Uthoff (126) pinned Colton Downing (Council Bluffs Jefferson) 1:26
Seth Wennermark (132) pinned by Spencer Nevills (Pleasant Valley), 3:43
Josh Wenger (138) pinned Ben Sarasin (Kennedy) 1:54
Jarod Cadena (182) technical fall over Hayden Waldstein (Lewis Central), 16-0
Taylor Mehmen (195) pinned Chance Cary (Pleasant Valley), 1:59
Tyler Pasker (285) lost to Jake Heinrich (Urbandale), 7-2

Jefferson

Zach Main (106) lost to Paxton Whiteaker (Lewis Central), 10-0 Brenden Baker (113) beat Nate Lendt (SE Polk), 5-4 Joseph Sibomana (120) lost to Jacob Schwarm (Bettendorf), 12-0 Kyle Briggs (132) lost to Michael Zachary (Fort Dodge), 5-3 Tavian Rashed (152) lost to Matt Malcolm (Glenwood), 7-2 Luke Sedlacek (160) beat Brady Buchheit (SE Polk), 6-5 Kelly May (182) pinned Ben Wilson (Johnston), 0:51 Dalton Kuehl (285) pinned Blake Moser (IC West), 1:59

Linn-Mar

Noah Ajram (120) beat Jake Watters (Dowling), 8-3 Matt Wempen (145) beat Tanner Murray (DM Roosevelt), 13-2 Toby Northrup (152) beat Derek Hickman (Ankeny), 11-5 Shea Hartzler (160) beat Nate Kelsay (IC West), 8-0

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 19 February 2015 12:37 - Last Updated Thursday, 19 February 2015 18:22

Kennedy

Nolan Hrmidko (120) pinned Josue Dansou (Davenport Central), 2:42 Ben Sarasin (138) pinned by Josh Wenger (Prairie), 1:54 Dalles Jacobus (220) lost to Dylan Hoefler (Western Dubuque), 4-2

Xavier

Clint Lembeck (132) lost to Paul Glynn (Bettendorf), 8-6

First Round Wrestlebacks Prairie

Trenten Wennermark (113) beat Trevor Anderson (Glenwood), 11-5 Dylan Kleinschmidt (120) lost to Kyle Kuckta (Lewis Central), 5-3 Seth Wennermark (132) beat Chase Petty (Pella), 6-3 Tyler Pasker (285) beat Caleb Sanders (Glenwood), 3-1

Jefferson

Zach Main (106) pinned by Dillon Gottschalk (Hempstead), 1:58 Joseph Sibomana (120) lost to Alec Ksiazek (Johnston), 8-4 Kyle Briggs (132) beat Adrian Jurado (SC North), 4-0 Tavian Rashed (152) lost to Derek Hickman (Ankeny), 5-4

Kennedy

Ben Sarasin (138) pinned Drew Sass (Bettendorf), 1:13

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 19 February 2015 12:37 - Last Updated Thursday, 19 February 2015 18:22

Dalles Jacobus (220) beat Trevor Barry (Clinton), 4-0

Xavier

Clint Lembeck (132) beat Chance Raleigh (DM East), 17-1