

Five Metro athletes have been selected first team all state the Iowa High School Soccer Coaches Association announced Sunday.

Kennedy brothers Garet and Gabe Christianson, Washington's Brandon Besong, and Xavier's Zach Smith and Chad Gilmer all were first team selections. The Christianson brothers and Besong were picked for the Class 3A team, Smith and Gilmer for the Class 2A team.

Garet Christianson, a senior, was the Metro's leading scorer with 27 goals. Junior Gabe Christianson, the Gatorade Iowa male soccer player of the year, scored 15 goals and had 26 assists. Both were playing their first season of high school soccer after coming up through the junior ranks.

Besong, a senior, scored four goals and had 15 assists.

Smith and Gilmer were high scorers on Xavier's Class 2A state championship team. Smith, a senior who missed the postseason because of a knee injury, had 12 goals and 10 assists and was named the Valley Division player of the year in the Mississippi Valley Conference. Gilmer, a junior, led the Saints with 14 goals and 11 assists.

Xavier also had two second team selections in seniors Tim Bouchard and Michael Tessmer.

Washington goalkeeper Camron Harrison was a second team choice in Class 3A.

IHSSA ALL-STATE TEAMS

CLASS 3A

First Team

Brandon Besong - CR Washington Tyler Chavez - Iowa City High Gabe Christianson - CR Kennedy Garet Christianson - CR Kennedy Cameron Duckworth - Waukee Austin Hayden - WDM Valley Logan Marvin - WDM Dowling JD McCullough - Iowa City High Tyler Neumann - Johnston Tanner Schilling - Iowa City West Brandon Visonnavong - WDM Valley Goalkeeper: Alden Haffar - WDM Valley

Second Team

Jon Choda - Waukee Tyler Cruikshank - Marshalltown TJ Dippel - Pleasant Valley Ryan Hamby - Bettendorf Mark Hentschel - WDM Dowling Fernando Pacheco - Iowa City High Dylan Patterson - WDM Valley Hasib Stitkovac - DM Hoover Eric Williams - WDM Valley Jake Zenk - WDM Dowling Goalkeeper: Camron Harrison - CR Washington

CLASS 2A

First Team

Connor Adamson - Norwalk Grant Barrick - Pella Tukker Bogaard - Pella Nick Cook - Grinnell Jordan Ferch - Grinnell Chad Gilmer - CR Xavier Sam Koenig - Dubuque Wahlert Dylan Schrader - Knoxville Zach Smith - CR Xavier Jonah Waldron - Adel Goalkeeper: Robert Woodle - Knoxville

Second Team

Pauly Apostolopoulos - Pella Zubeen Azari - Spirit Lake Nick Bobst - Norwalk Tim Bouchard - CR Xavier Steve Gutschenritter - Glenwood John Krause - Ballard Jake Reiter - Hudson Osvaldo Rodriguez - Perry Michael Tessmer - CR Xavier Trent Wendt - Harlan Goalkeeper: Matt Schulz - Glenwood

CLASS 1A

First Team

Max Alberhasky - Solon Adam Bengfort - Davenport Assumption Nick Hauenstein - Nevada Marshal Keohn - Solon

Written by Metro Sports Report Sunday, 12 June 2011 02:16 - Last Updated Sunday, 12 June 2011 02:22

Daniel Larew - IC Regina Ryan Lynch - IC Regina Zach Pechous - IC Regina Ben Rector - Holy Trinity Derek Rockwell - Albia Johnny Rummelhart - IC Regina Goalkeeper: Michael Goerdt - Waterloo Columbus

Second Team

Brady Anderson - Albia Mike Becker - Davenport Assumption Jake Beste - Gilbert Ty Borton - Nevada Nick Day - Solon Wesley Gudenkauf - Dyersville Beckman Par Maw - Waterloo Columbus Austin McMahon - Tri-Center John Nicholson - Iowa Mennonite Stevie O'Neill - CB St. Albert Goalkeeper: Robbie Sylvester - Bondurant-Farrar