Christensen Metro Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 22:09 - Last Updated Sunday, 08 April 2012 20:22



Kennedy senior Austin Christensen, who set numerous school hitting and pitching records for the Cougars this season, was named the Metro Athlete of the Year in voting by the seven Metro baseball coaches.

Christensen also was the Gatorade Player of the Year in Iowa and was named the Mississippi Division Player of the Year in the Mississippi Valley Conference

. He was 8-0 on the mound and slugged 19 home runs, helping Kennedy to a 31-8 record and berth in the Class 4A state tournament, where the Cougars are the defending champions.

Kennedy had three players on the first team and Jefferson had one. The other five schools had two representatives apiece.

Joining Christensen on the first team from Kennedy are second baseman Terrell Sykes and third baseman Devon Jacobus.

Marion qualified for the Class 3A tournament. The Indians on the first team are second baseman Kasey Semler and shortstop Zach Nielsen.

Prairie's DJ Utley also is a first teamer. He was chosen the MVC Valley Division Player of the Year.

Christensen Metro Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 22:09 - Last Updated Sunday, 08 April 2012 20:22

Coaches of the Year are Xavier's Dave Schemmel and his staff. The Saints finished 26-11.

2011 ALL-METRO BASEBALL TEAM

FIRST TEAM
DJ Utley, Prairie
Brayton Carlson, Prairie
Jordy Brown, Washington
AJ Puk, Washington
Austin Christensen, Kennedy
Terrell Sykes, Kennedy
Devon Jacobus, Kennedy
Tanner Unkel, Jefferson
Nate Even, Xavier
Blake Helms, Xavier
Ben Larison, Linn-Mar
Nate Greve, Linn-Mar
Kasey Semler, Marion

SECOND TEAM

Zach Nielsen, Marion

Anthony Gagliardi, Prairie Sam Kacena, Washington Griffin Michael, Kennedy David Yancey, Kennedy Michael Rooney, Jefferson Corbin Woods, Xavier Mack Mattke, Xavier Ean McNeal, Xavier Michael Redmond, Linn-Mar Andrew Charipar, Marion

METRO COACHES OF THE YEAR Dave Schemmel Xavier Coaching Staff

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR
Austin Christensen, Kennedy

HONORABLE MENTION

Christensen Metro Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 22:09 - Last Updated Sunday, 08 April 2012 20:22

C.R. Washington - Cole Rhatigan and Dan White

C.R. Jefferson - Alex Larson and Bailey Hollingsworth

C.R. Xavier - Dane Mehring and Colby Brecht

Linn Mar - Jeremy Danover and Jake Stolley

C.R. Kennedy - Alex Hayden and Cody Bell

C.R. Prairie - Chaz Boots and Brennan Hammer

Marion - Mitch Wagner and Byron Fish