

The Iowa High School Athletic Association shuffled the deck a little Wednesday with its district football assignments for the 2016 and 2017 campaigns.

Kennedy, Linn-Mar and Prairie were placed in District 8 in Class 4A along with Iowa City West, Burlington and Ottumwa.

Washington and Jefferson were placed in District 5 in Class 4A with Cedar Falls, Mason City, Waterloo West and Waterloo East.

Xavier landed in District 3 in Class 3A with Benton Community, Charles City, Decorah, Independence, South Tama, Vinton-Shellsburg and Waverly-Shell Rock.

Marion was placed in District 4 in Class 3A with Davenport Assumption, Center Point-Urbana, DeWitt Central, Clear Creek Amana, Maquoketa, Dubuque Wahlert and West Delaware.

The IHSAA board voted in favor of the status quo in Class 4A, with eight districts of six teams apiece, despite a recommendation from Eastern Iowa schools for six districts of eight teams apiece (see accompanying story).

The board voted in favor of a change for Class 3A, however, switching to seven districts of eight teams apiece. This past year, there were eight districts of seven teams apiece.

The playoff field has been trimmed in all classes from 32 teams to 16 teams. In Class 4A, that means only two teams will qualify from each district instead of four teams. The same will be true

in Class 3A, which also will have two wild-card teams to help take care of three-way ties.

All of the Class 4A teams will play five district games and four non-district games. Kennedy will play non-district games with Jefferson and Washington, which means the Cougars will be seeking two additional non-district contests. Jefferson and Washington will be seeking three more non-district games, in addition to their game with Kennedy.

The IHSAA will announce the schedules in February.

Here are all the Class 4A and Class 3A assignments:

CLASS 4A

District 1: Des Moines East, Des Moines Roosevelt, Johnston, Sioux City East, Sioux City North, Waukee.

District 2: Ames, Ankeny Centennial, Council Bluffs Lincoln, Des Moines Lincoln, Dowling Catholic, Sioux City West.

District 3: Ankeny, Council Bluffs Jefferson, Des Moines Hoover, Des Moines North, Lewis Central, Urbandale.

District 4: Fort Dodge, Indianola, Marshalltown, Newton, Southeast Polk, West Des Moines Valley.

District 5: Cedar Falls, Jefferson, Washignton, Mason City, Waterloo East, Waterloo West.

District 6: Davenport West, Dubuque Hempstead, Dubuque Senior, Western Dubuque, North Scott, Pleasant Valley.

District 7: Bettendorf, Clinton, Davenport Central, Davenport North, Iowa City High, Muscatine.

District 8: Burlington, Kennedy, Iowa City West, Linn-Mar, Ottumwa, Prairie.

CLASS 3A

District 1: Algona, Sioux City Heelan, Humboldt, LeMars, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Spencer, Spirit Lake, Storm Lake.

District 2: Ballard, Boone, Dallas Center-Grimes, Gilbert, Greene County, Iowa Falls-Alden, Perry, Webster City.

District 3: Benton Community, Charles City, Decorah, Independence, South Tama, Vinton-Shellsburg, Waverly-Shell Rock, Xavier.

District 4: Davenport Assumption, Center Point-Urbana, DeWitt Central, Clear Creek Amana, Maquoketa, Marion, Dubuque Wahlert, West Delaware.

District 5: Fairfield, Fort Madison, Keokuk, Mount Pleasant, Oskaloosa, Solon, Washington, West Burlington/Notre Dame.

District 6: Bondurant-Farrar, Carlisle, Grinnell, Knoxville, Nevada, North Polk, Norwalk, Pella.

District 7: ADM, Atlantic, Carroll, Creston/O-M, Denison-Schleswig, Glenwood, Harlan, Winterset.

NOTE: For a complete list of all other classes, <u>click here</u>.