Jones, Goedken join MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 31 October 2016 04:51 -



Haley Jones from Coe College and Morgan Goedken from Wartburg are the latest collegiate athletes to join the new Iowa Women's Softball League that will begin play in 2017.

Fifteen players have now joined the program, representing NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA colleges.

Jones, a middle infielder, is currently a sophomore at Coe. She is the third Kohawk to join the summer league, joining Maddy Ryan and Mallory McArtor.

Jones was an all-conference and all-state shortstop during her prep career at Waterloo West.

(CLICK HERE TO REGISTER)

Goedken, a catcher, is a sophomore at Wartburg. She played at Iowa City Regina and was named to the academic all-conference team.

The new Iowa Women's Softball League, which is being formed by the Metro Sports Report, is intended for all college players who are currently playing for schools in Iowa and for all Iowans who are playing at out-of-state schools.



The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons next summer, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

Jones, Goedken join MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 31 October 2016 04:51 -

The league will feature four teams with 16 players per team.

Here are the 15 players who have joined so far:

- 1. Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
- 2. Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
- 3. Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
- 4. Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
- 5. Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
- 6. Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
- 7. Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 8. Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
- 9. Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
- 10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
- 11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
- 12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
- 13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
- 14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
- 15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if you have not finalized your plans for next summer. The \$100 player fee will be refunded if you are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

The Metro Sports Report hopes that all players will attend all of the games, but we'll certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

We plan to use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the

Jones, Goedken join MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 31 October 2016 04:51 -

playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at Jim.Ecker@MetroSportsReport.com or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All you have to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.