Alyssa Wiebel joins MSR softball league



Former Benton Community star Alyssa Wiebel, one of the greatest sluggers in state history, is the latest player to join the new Iowa Women's Softball League that will begin this summer.

Wiebel is currently a freshman at Illinois State University.

Wiebel enjoyed a remarkable career at Benton Community and helped the Bobcats win the Class 3A state title this past summer. She belted 64 home runs, which ranks second in state history and is tied for fourth in the national record books.

(CLICK HERE TO REGISTER)

Wiebel was a four-time first team all-state selection, the Class 3A Player of the Year and the lowa Softball Gatorade Player of the Year during her remarkable career. She had a career batting average of .538, drove in 272 runs and helped Benton Community compile a 170-39 record during her five years of varsity competition.

Wiebel, a shortstop, is the 16th collegiate player to join the Iowa Women's Softball League, which is being formed by the Metro Sports Report. The new league is geared for all college players in Iowa and all Iowans who are competing at out-of-state schools.

The 20-game season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons next summer, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

Alyssa Wiebel joins MSR softball league

The league will feature four teams with 16 players per team.

Here are the 16 players who have joined so far:

- 1. Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
- 2. Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
- 3. Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
- 4. Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
- 5. Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
- 6. Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
- 7. Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 8. Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
- 9. Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
- 10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
- 11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
- 12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
- 13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
- 14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
- 15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)
- 16. Alyssa Wiebel, Illinois State (Benton Community)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if they have not finalized their plans for next summer. The \$100 player fee will be refunded if they are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

The Metro Sports Report hopes that all players will attend all of the games, but will certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

Alyssa Wiebel joins MSR softball league

The league will use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at Jim.Ecker@MetroSportsReport.com or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All anyone has to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors of the Iowa Women's Softball League are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.