

Kasiah Ehresman of Coe and Bradi Yost of Ellsworth are the latest college players to join the new Iowa Women's Softball League.

Ehresman and Yost are the 34th and 35th players to join the program, which is intended for all active college players in Iowa and for all Iowans who are competing at out-of-state schools.

Ehresman, a freshman infielder at Coe, was one of the most prolific stolen-bases artists in the country during her high school career at Lynnville-Sully. She stole 218 bases during her four years on the varsity, a total that puts her No. 2 all-time in lowa and No. 6 all-time in the country, according to the National Federation of High Schools (NFHS).

(CLICK HERE TO REGISTER)

Ehresman was rarely caught on the bases and was thrown out only 10 times, finishing 218 of 228 in her career. She was 29 for 31 as a freshman, 61 of 64 as a sophomore, 61 of 63 as a junior, and 67 of 70 as a senior.

Ehresman twice hit over .500 at Lynnville-Sully, batting .564 in 2014 and .540 in 2015, and scored 196 runs in 154 games.

Yost, a sophomore at Ellsworth Community College, is a versatile player as a pitcher, first baseman and outfielder. She was named first team all-region last year as a utility player after hitting .374 with nine homers and 24 RBIs and also serving as the No. 2 pitcher at Ellsworth.

Yost began pitching for the varsity at Aplington-Parkersburg High School as an eighth grader. She made several all-conference and all-district teams and received Honorable Mention all-state honors during her career.

Ehresman, Yost join Iowa softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Tuesday, 14 February 2017 05:44 - Last Updated Tuesday, 14 February 2017 09:34



All told, 17 different colleges have at least one player in the league. The list includes Kirkwood, UNI, Coe, Mount Mercy, Luther, Wartburg, Waldorf, Illinois State, Indian Hills, Loras, South Dakota State, Upper Iowa, DMACC, Western Illinois, Southeastern Community College, Indiana State and Ellsworth.

Kirkwood has the most players in the program with eight. There are four players from Coe and three from UNI.

In addition, the 35 players hail from 27 different high schools. Solon leads the way with four former Spartans in the program and Kennedy has three graduates in the league.

The Iowa Women's Softball League has been created by the Metro Sports Report to give college players an opportunity to play in a competitive summer league. It's the only program of its kind in Iowa and is gaining enrollment on a daily basis.

The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

The goal is to have four teams with at least 12 players per team.

Here are the 35 players who have joined so far:

1. Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)

Ehresman, Yost join Iowa softball league

Written by Jim Ecker

Tuesday, 14 February 2017 05:44 - Last Updated Tuesday, 14 February 2017 09:34

- 2. Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
- 3. Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
- 4. Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
- 5. Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
- 6. Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
- 7. Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 8. Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
- 9. Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
- 10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
- 11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
- 12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
- 13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
- 14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
- 15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)
- 16. Alyssa Wiebel, Illinois State (Benton)
- 17. Monika Bevans, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 18. Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State (Solon)
- 19. Erin Drahozal, Upper Iowa (Xavier)
- 20. Emily Ira, Western Illinois (Solon)
- 21. Sydney Robertson, DMACC (Vinton-Shellsburg)
- 22. Lexi Ferrari, Kirkwood (Alleman Catholic)
- 23. DoniRae Mayhew, Kirkwood (Bettendorf)
- 24. Morgan Christner, Illinois State (New London)
- 25. Paige Timmerman, Luther (CR Kennedy)
- 26. Megan Kublik, Kirkwood (Wilton)
- 27. Morgan Smith, Southeastern CC (Davenport North)
- 28. Gabi Carter, Indiana State (Kirkwood/CR Prairie)
- 29. Taylor Bell, Waldorf (Madrid)
- 30. Brittney Roby, UNI (DMACC/Twin Cedars)
- 31. Brooke Craig, UNI (Waterloo Columbus)
- 32. Abbie Young, Ellsworth (AGWSR)
- 33. Hannah Onken, Wartburg (Greene County)
- 34. Kasiah Ehresman, Coe (Lynnville-Sully)
- 35. Bradi Yost, Ellsworth (Aplington-Parkersburg)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if they have not finalized their plans for this summer. The \$100 player fee will be refunded if they are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

Ehresman, Yost join Iowa softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Tuesday, 14 February 2017 05:44 - Last Updated Tuesday, 14 February 2017 09:34

The Metro Sports Report hopes all players will attend all of the games, but the company will certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

The league will use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at Jim.Ecker@MetroSportsReport.com or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All anyone has to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors for the Iowa Women's Softball League are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.