## Hogg, Warriors claim top honors at Clinton

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 01 October 2011 22:32 - Last Updated Saturday, 01 October 2011 23:25

CLINTON - Robert Hogg and the Cedar Rapids Washington Warriors were the grand champions at the Clinton Invitational cross country meet Saturday.

Hogg won the individual title in 15 minutes, 54.9 seconds and the Warriors captured the team championship for the second straight year.

Washington placed five runners in the top-15 with Etienne Nzoyisaba third (16:03.1), Laurent Hakizimana 10th (16:39.3), Joe Berry 12th (16:47.8) and Jon Rockwell 14th (16:49.9).

The Warriors won the title with 40 points, beating Indianola by 21 points. Xavier finished 10th out 15 teams with Ben Schueler running 26th in 17:15.5.

The Xavier girls team placed seventh out of 16 teams in their competition with Marinna Schroud finishing in 34th place in 16:28.3.

Washington placed 13th in the varsity girls competition with Colby Bjornsen 37th in 16:31.7. The Warriors used a modified varsity lineup because four of their varsity runners, who are all sophomores, elected to run in the frosh/soph race. They finished 1-2-3-4 in the frosh/soph race and led Washington to the title.

Kate Kasper of Clinton won the girls race in 14:38.6.

**CLINTON INVITATIONAL** 

## Hogg, Warriors claim top honors at Clinton

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 01 October 2011 22:32 - Last Updated Saturday, 01 October 2011 23:25

## **Boys Standings**

1. Washington 40, 2. Indianola 61, 3. Pleasant Valley 74, 4. Bettendorf 136, 5. Urbandale 165, 6. Fort Madison 194, 7. Muscatine 203, 8. Iowa City Regina 227, 9. DeWitt Central 234, 10. Xavier 241, 11. Clinton 288, 12. Moline 329, 13. Durant-Bennett 331, 14. Prince of Peace 485, 15. North Scott 511.

## Girls Standings

1. Pleasant Valley 57, 2. Bettendorf 62, 3. Urbandale 71, 4. Indianola 119, 5. Moline 127, 6. Iowa City Regina 211, 7. Xavier 235, 8. North Scott 295, 9. Prince of Peace 298, 10. Muscatine 333, 11. Fort Madison 334, 12. DeWitt Central 337, 13. Washington 347, 14. Clinton 393, 15. Bennett-Durant 557, 16. Davenport North (incomplete team).