Lions' Newhouse Metro's top female runner

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 01 November 2011 23:29 - Last Updated Tuesday, 01 November 2011 23:44



Linn-Mar senior Carolyn Newhouse, who helped lead the Lions to a second-place finish at last weekend's Class 4A state cross country meet, is the Metro Female Runner of the Year.

All five Linn-Mar runners that scored at the state meet were named to the first team and all seven members of the first team were unanimous selections. The team was chosen by a vote of Metro cross country coaches.

Joining Newhouse on the first team from Linn-Mar are senior Brooklynn Kascel, sophomores Morgan Uridil and Rachel Perry, and freshman Maddie Saville.

The other members of the first team are Kennedy sophomore Alyssa Averhoff and Washington sophomore Shannon Gorman.

Linn-Mar also had a runner on the second team - sophomore Caitlin Novak - and Kennedy had five runners on the second team. The Lions and Cougars were the only Metro teams to qualify for the state meet.

Linn-Mar Coach Todd Goodell and his staff are the Metro coaching staff of the year.

ALL-METRO GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY

* - Unanimous selections

First Team

*Carolyn Newhouse (Linn-Mar), sr.

Lions' Newhouse Metro's top female runner

Written by Metro Sports Report

Tuesday, 01 November 2011 23:29 - Last Updated Tuesday, 01 November 2011 23:44

- *Brooklynn Kascel (Linn-Mar), sr.
- *Morgan Uridil (Linn-Mar), soph.
- *Rachel Perry (Linn-Mar), soph.
- *Maddie Saville (Linn-Mar), fr.
- *Alyssa Averhoff (Kennedy), soph.
- *Shannon Gorman (Washington), soph.

Second Team

Caitlin Novak (Linn-Mar), soph.

Jessica Rodman (Kennedy), jr.

Lauren Meyer (Kennedy), fr.

Katie Wampole (Kennedy), jr.

Allison Culver (Kennedy), soph.

Tara Mittelberg (Kennedy), jr.

Breanna Gaster (Prairie), sr.

Honorable Mention

Jefferson - Rachel Sedlacek, Michelle Zikes

Kennedy - Carolyn Stone, Megan Terukina

Prairie - Beth Heims, Maddie Rainey

Washington - Madison Stuckenschneider, Katie Karamitros

Linn-Mar - Olivia Miller, Sydney Johnston

Xavier - Allison Pitz, Marinna Schroud

Marion - Alexis Timp, Ellen Cannon

Runner of the Year - Carolyn Newhouse (Linn-Mar)

Coach of the Year - Todd Goodell and the Linn-Mar staff