## Hoyer, Nordgren honored by IHSBCA

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 19 January 2015 20:25 -

Bret Hoyer of Kennedy and Gordy Nordgren of Jefferson were honored at the annual Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association banquet in Cedar Rapids Saturday.

Hoyer was named the Northeast District Coach of the Year and Nordgren was saluted as the Northeast District Assistant Coach of the Year.

Steve Fish of Marion received a 30-year service award. Hoyer received a 25-year award, Chad Lechner of Linn-Mar received a 20-year award and Kyle Rodenkirk of Jefferson received a 10-year award.

Former Prairie coach Matt Thede, now the athletic director at Mount Vernon, was recognized as a new member of the 100 Win Club.