Bruckman Player of the Year on all-Metro team

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 14 June 2011 02:09 -

Jefferson senior Maggie Bruckman was named the Metro girls soccer player of the year in voting by the seven Metro coaches.

Bruckman, a senior, will play college soccer at Iowa State.

Class 2A state champion Xavier had three players on the all-Metro first team. Senior keeper Tori Shepard was joined by junior Annie Dale and Kayla Armstrong. Dale scored six goals at the state tournament and was named captain of the 2A all-tournament team. Shepard allowed only one goal in five postseason games. Armstrong was the Metro scoring leader with 36 goals.

Washington, which qualified for the state tournament for the first time in school history, also had three first teamers: Morgan Bjornsen, Ashley Piper and Jessica Erb.

State qualifier Kennedy had two players on the first team: Shauna Happel and Katie Helmlinger. Linn-Mar also had two first teamers: Madisen Garman and Brinkly Werkman.

Jefferson, Prairie and Marion each had one representative. Marion's Kristin Kramer scored 58 goals in her two years with the Indians.

Washington's Sean McCoy was named coach of the year. McCoy announced shortly after the Warriors' state tournament loss that he is resigning his post to take a job with a soccer association in Omaha.

ALL-METRO GIRLS SOCCER

First Team Morgan Bjornsen, Washington Ashley Piper, Washington Jessica Erb, Washington Kayla Armstrong, Xavier

Bruckman Player of the Year on all-Metro team

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 14 June 2011 02:09 -

Tori Shepard, Xavier
Annie Dale, Xavier
Shauna Happel, Kennedy
Katie Helmlinger, Kennedy
Madisen Garman, Linn-Mar
Brinkly Werkman, Linn-Mar
Maggie Bruckman, Jefferson
Bree Gaster, Prairie
Kristin Kramer, Marion

Second Team
Sophi Malcolm, Washington
Maddi Hines, Washington
Mary Levett, Xavier
Lucy Martin, Xavier
Allie Hutcheson, Kennedy
Breanna Hawley, Kennedy
McKenzie Stump, Kennedy
Lindsey Harms, Linn-Mar
Kali Hubler, Linn-Mar
Trina Gallagher, Jefferson
Riley Kesterson, Jefferson
Aminah Baloch, Prairie
Jasmine Grindeland, Marion

Honorable Mention
Washington -- CJ Cooper, Sarah Keppler
Marion -- Ashley Kupka, Alyssa Kupka
Xavier -- Kelsey Sargent, Sarah Dickes
Kennedy -- Jordan Holmes, Liz Frerichs
Prairie -- Katherine Grabe, Lizzy Fowler
Jefferson -- Jordan Cue, Chelsea Anderson
Linn-Mar -- Emily Saville, Kristin Thom

Player of the Year -- Maggie Bruckman, Jefferson

Coach of the Year -- Sean McCoy, Washington