5 Metro boys teams in same substate

Five Metro boys teams will vie for one spot in the Class 4A state basketball tournament when the tournament series starts next month.

Substate groupings for basketball were released by the Iowa High School Athletic Association on Monday. Class 4A Substate 6 includes five Metro teams - Kennedy, Linn-Mar, Prairie, Washington and Xavier - and Iowa City High.

Jefferson was placed in Substate 3 with Cedar Falls, Marshalltown, Mason City, Waterloo East and Waterloo West.

Marion, meanwhile, was placed in Substate 5 in Class 3A. The Indians are joined by Anamosa, Benton, Clear Creek Amana, Davenport Assumption, DeWitt Central, Solon and Williamsburg.

A maximum of three Metro teams could make it to the state tournament.

Four Metro teams - Linn-Mar, Jefferson and Washington in 4A and Marion in 3A - made it to the state tournament last year.

Linn-Mar is the defending Class 4A state champion and highest ranked team in Substate 6. Kennedy is 8-3 and the likely top challenger to the Lions (8-2). The Cougars just got back two starters - Josiah Coleman and Darius Fuller - that were suspended for the season's first 10 games.

Jefferson and Cedar Falls are both 9-2 and ranked in the top 10. They play each other Jan. 31 at Cedar Falls in their only meeting of the regular season. Jefferson is bidding for its third straight state tournament berth.

Davenport Assumption is the only ranked team in Class 3A Substate 5. The Knights are

5 Metro boys teams in same substate

members of the Mississippi Athletic Conference, whose nine other members are all in Class 4A. The other seven members of the substate are from the Wamac Conference.

Pairings and sites for the Class 3A and 4A substates will be announced the week of Feb. 6. The Class 3A and 4A substate tournament starts Feb. 20.

The state tournament is March 5-10 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

CLASS 4A AND 3A SUBSTATES

(Records through Jan. 14)

Class 4A

Substate 3 Cedar Falls (9-2) CR Jefferson (9-2) Marshalltown (4-7) Mason City (4-8) Waterloo East (3-8) Waterloo West (5-6)

Substate 6 Kennedy (8-3) Washington (0-9) Iowa City High (4-7) Linn-Mar (8-2) Prairie (5-6) Xavier (4-7)

5 Metro boys teams in same substate

Class 3A

Substate 5 Anamosa (5-9) Davenport Assumption (8-3) Benton (5-7) DeWitt Central (4-8) Clear Creek Amana (6-6) Marion (5-7) Solon (7-4) Williamsburg (7-4)