Witte, Wempen share Metro mat honor

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 24 February 2012 21:28 - Last Updated Saturday, 25 February 2012 00:43

State champions Zach Witte from Prairie and Matt Wempen from Linn-Mar have been named Metro wrestlers of the year in a vote of coaches.

Witte, a senior, is a two-time state champion. He won the 152-pound crown at last week's state meet after winning at 145 in 2011. He also finished second as a freshman in 2009. He has signed to wrestle at the University of Northern Iowa.

Wempen, a freshman, won the 106-pound title at last week's state meet. He finished the season with a 48-2 record.

Linn-Mar, which finished fourth in the state meet, had seven first team wrestlers. Prairie, which finished fifth in the state meet, also placed seven wrestlers on the first team.

Linn-Mar wrestlers on the first team are: Wempen, Alijah Jeffery (113), Joel Northrup (132), Ross Lembeck (145), Mitch Wantock (170), Mark Atwater (182) and AJ Garcia (220).

Prairie wrestlers on the first team are: Witte, Josh Wenger (113), Chris Walters (120), Trey Blaha (126), Skyler St. John (138), Cameron Rathje (170) and Andrew Netolicky (220).

Other members of the first team are: Kennedy's Luke Kremer (132), Ryan Rodriguez (138) and Shane Williams (160), Xavier's Jack Boland (195), and Washington's Tyler Burrell (285).

Walters, Kremer, Lembeck and Atwater all finished second at the state meet. Jeffery was third, and Wenger, Northrup and Garcia finished fourth.

Linn-Mar's Doug Streicher was named Coach of the Year.

Witte, Wempen share Metro mat honor

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 24 February 2012 21:28 - Last Updated Saturday, 25 February 2012 00:43

ALL-METRO

FIRST TEAM

106 - Matt Wempen (LM), 113 - Josh Wenger (CRP) and Alijah Jeffery (LM), 120 - Chris Walters (CRP), 126 - Trey Blaha (CRP), 132 - Luke Kremer (CRK) and Joel Northrup (LM), 138 - Ryan Rodriguez (CRK) and Skyler St. John (CRP), 145 - Ross Lembeck (LM), 152 - Zach Witte (CRP), 160 - Shane Williams (CRK), 170 - Cameron Rathje (CRP) and Mitch Wantock (LM), 182 - Mark Atwater (LM), 195 - Jack Boland (CRX), 220 - Andrew Netolicky (CRP) and AJ Garcia (LM), 285 - Tyler Burrell (CRW)

SECOND TEAM

106 - Griffin Bollman (CRJ), 113 - PJ Rashed (CRJ), 120 - Damon Griffin (LM), 126 - Jordin Eicher (CRW) and Trevor Berry (LM), 132 - Tyler Laska (CRX), 138 - Luke Sedlacek (CRJ), 145 - Peyton Wagner (CRP), 152 - Kaisar Herz (CRW), 160 - Shavez Butler (CRJ), John Conner (LM) and Casey Becker (CRP), 170 - Josh Allen (CRJ), 182 - Austin Gould (CRP), 195 - Ryley Stancel (LM) and Trent Schulte (CRP), 220 - Drake Allen (CRJ), 285 - Justin Green (LM)

HONORABLE MENTION

106 - Dax Dills (CRW), 113 - Nathan Waterhouse (CRK), 120 - Trey Schuler (CRW), 126 - Alex Hunter (Marion) and Michael Moncivais (CRJ), 132 - Zach Becicka (CRP), 138 - Kory Donithan (CRX), 145 - Kelly May (CRJ) and Ben Feuerhelm (CRK), 152 - Sean Ickes (CRX), Josh Pederson (LM), 170 - Drake Hickok (CRW), 182 - Dalton Kuehl (CRJ), 195 - Brandon Leary (CRJ), 220 - Zach Goodall (CRK), 285 - Mic Vesey (CRJ)

WRESTLER OF THE YEAR - Zach Witte (CRP) and Matt Wempen (LM)

COACH OF THE YEAR - Doug Streicher (LM)