Midnight Hoops league starts Sunday

The new Midnight Hoops summer basketball league will begin Sunday afternoon with three games at Coe College.

Forty-four players have been placed on five teams. The league was formed to benefit players from Coe, Mount Mercy and Kirkwood, with about half the players coming from those three local colleges.

There also are eight players from Upper Iowa.

There are a variety of recent Metro high school players in the league with Mike Thul (Linn-Mar), Alec Saunders (Jefferson), Jake Misener (Kennedy), Alex Coleman (Kennedy), Jake Manning (Kennedy), Jake Hughes (Kennedy), Kasey Semler (Marion), Josiah Coleman (Kennedy) and Ben McDermott (Xavier).

Two active high school players also will play in the league. Trey Sampson of Xavier and David Rosenthal of Cedar Rapids Washington will be competing.

Sunday's schedule features Nesper Sign vs. Source One Logos at 3 p.m., Hills Banks & Trust vs. Katalyst Systems Inc. at 4 p.m., and Midnight Hoops vs. Source One Logos at 5 p.m.

HILLS BANK & TRUST

Brad Joens (ex-Wayne State), Nate Joens (Coe), Mike Thul (Coe), J.T. Vonderhaar (Coe), Sid Beck (Mount Mercy), Kevin Hunter (Kirkwood), Derek Witt (Kirkwood), Trey Sampson (Xavier H.S.), Alec Saunders (Jefferson H.S./NIACC).

MIDNIGHT HOOPS

Midnight Hoops league starts Sunday

Jason Pershing (ex-Mount Mercy), Trent Gaines (ex-Ellsworth), Rashad Carrington (Mount Mercy), Chad Underwood (Mount Mercy), Sam Kenyi (Mount Mercy), Bo Pagel (Upper Iowa), Eddie Denard (Kirkwood), Devan Douglas (Kirkwood), David Rosenthal (Cedar Rapids Washington).

KATALYST SYSTEMS INC.

Brad Axdahl (ex-Coe), John Blumberg (Charles City H.S./Coe), Andrew Wirth (Coe), Jacob Timm (Mount Vernon H.S./Coe), Jake Misener (Mount Mercy), Alex Coleman (Mount Mercy), Sam Elgin (Upper Iowa), Jake Manning (Wisconsin-Platteville), Turner Wentzien (Solon H.S./Upper Iowa).

NESPER SIGN

Dan Borngraeber (ex-Coe), Corey Joens (Coe), Troy Peter (Mount Mercy), Tucker Wentzien (Upper Iowa), Jake Hughes (Upper Iowa), Nick Soyer (Upper Iowa), Kasey Semler (Kirkwood), Dominic Wilder (Kirkwood), Alex Miller (Cornell).

SOURCE ONE LOGOS

Brandon Jackson (ex-C.R. Washington), Lamar Wall (Mount Mercy), Joey Woods (Upper Iowa), Mike Lafrenz (Upper Iowa), Aaron Schueller (Loras), Josiah Coleman (Kennedy H.S./Iowa Western), Nate Garner (ex-Evansville), Ben McDermott (Xavier H.S./NIACC).

Midnight Hoops league starts Sunday