19 Metro players make all-district baseball

Nineteen baseball players from the Metro area have been named to the IHSBCA all-district teams, the coaches association announced Tuesday.

The Kennedy Cougars landed seven spots on the Northeast District Class 4A club, including five first-team selections with Alex Hayden, Adam Lloyd, Chico Lizarraga, Cody Bell and Josh Jahlas. The Cougars claimed two second-team berths with Nick Appleget and Logan Ambrosy.

The Linn-Mar Lions put four players on the all-district club. Jake Stolley and Nate Greve were named to the first team, while Austin Stroschein and Michael Redmond were selected for the second unit.

Cedar Rapids Prairie also claimed four spots on the all-star unit. Jason Velvick and Brennan Hammer were first-team picks, while Tyler Votroubek and Brayton Carlson were second-team selections.

Chance Tiedtke of Jefferson was a first-team selection in Class 4A and Mack Mattke of Xavier was a second-team pick.

The Marion Indians claimed two berths on the Class 3A Northeast District team. Tyler Hedtke was a first-team choice and Trev Biery was a second-team selection.

IOWA HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION 2012 All-District Teams

CLASS 4A Northeast First Team

- P Alex Hayden, Kennedy, Sr.
- P Adam Lloyd, Kennedy, Sr.
- P Jake Stolley, Linn-Mar, Sr.
- C Chico Lizarraga, Kennedy, Sr.
- C Zach Fricke, Waterloo West, Jr.
- 1B Cody Bell, Kennedy, Sr.
- 2B Reid Bonner, Iowa City West, Jr.

19 Metro players make all-district baseball

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 July 2012 21:15 - Last Updated Monday, 23 July 2012 23:02

- SS Connor Grant, Dubuque Senior, Sr.
- 3B Dylan Merritt, Dubuque Senior, Sr.
- OF Josh Jahlas, Kennedy, Sr.
- OF Jason Velvick, Prairie, Sr.
- OF Chance Tiedtke, Jefferson, Sr.
- UT Ryan Duncan, Iowa City High, Sr.
- UT Brennan Hammer, Prairie, Jr.
- UT Nate Greve, Linn-Mar, Jr.
- UT Josh Crosby, Iowa City High, Jr.

Northeast Second Team

- P Nick Grimsman, Iowa City West, Sr.
- P Nick Appleget, Kennedy, Sr.
- P Alex Steines, Dubuque Senior, Sr.
- C J.T. Sole, Cedar Falls, Soph
- C Colin Baker, Iowa City West, Jr.
- 1B Tyler Votroubek, Prairie, Jr.
- 2B Brayton Carlson, Prairie, Sr.
- SS Derick Vaughn, Waterloo West, Sr.
- 3B Austin Stroschein, Linn-Mar, Jr.
- OF Michael Redmond, Linn-Mar, Sr.
- OF Ryan Siems, Iowa City West, Sr.
- OF Logan Ambrosy, Kennedy, Sr.
- UT Luke Crimmins, Iowa City West, Sr.
- UT Sam Mrstik, Iowa City High, Jr.
- UT Jordan Dee, Jefferson, Sr.
- UT Mack Mattke, Xavier, Sr.

CLASS 3A

Northeast First Team

- P Jonny Frese, Benton Community, Jr.
- P Cody Reimer, Western Dubuque, Jr.
- P Tyler Hedtke, Marion, Sr.
- P Cole McDonald, New Hampton, Frosh
- C Jake Stenberg, Benton Community, Sr.
- C Alex Zwanziger, New Hampton, Sr.
- 1B Blaine Snitker, Waukon, Sr.
- 2B Tyler Willis, Waverly-Shell Rock, Sr.
- SS Mitch Moser, Benton Community, Jr.
- 3B Mike Nicolay, Oelwein, Sr.
- OF Tyler Morrison, West Delaware, Sr.
- OF Ryan Lehmann, Western Dubuque, Sr.
- OF Luke Johnson, Charles City, Jr.

19 Metro players make all-district baseball

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 July 2012 21:15 - Last Updated Monday, 23 July 2012 23:02

- UT Darrin Charlier, Vinton-Shellsburg, Sr.
- UT Nick Tuttle, Western Dubuque, Sr.
- UT Josey Jewell, Decorah, Jr.
- UT Jacob Germann, Benton Community, Jr.

Northeast Second Team

- P Taylor Gilson, Oelwein, Jr.
- P Anthony Ruden, Dubuque Wahlert, Jr.
- P Landon Ashbacher, Decorah, Sr.
- P Gavin Nadermann, Western Dubuque, Jr.
- C Zach Isakson, Charles City, Sr.
- C Tyler Rau, Oelwein, Sr.
- 1B Trev Biery, Marion, Jr.
- 2B Peyton River, Maquoketa, Sr.
- SS Trent Bollman, Maquoketa, Soph
- 3B Tyson Massey, Western Dubuque, Sr.
- OF James Ostlie, Decorah, Jr.
- OF Derek Hopson, Maquoketa, Sr.
- OF Jordan McFarland, Benton Community, Jr.
- UT Logan Holtz, Center Point-Urbana, Soph
- UT Blake Moen, Decorah, Sr.
- UT Hunter Westhoff, Western Dubuque, Sr.
- UT Jesse Etherington, Charles City, Jr.