Dani Franklin tops all-MVC squad

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 20 February 2013 15:12 -

Cedar Rapids Washington junior Dani Franklin has been named the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division of the Mississippi Valley Conference for the 2012-13 girls basketball campaign.

Franklin and Blaire Thomas of Waterloo West were unanimous picks on the first team in the Valley Division. Madison Dellamuth of Prairie, Alisa Weiland of Prairie, Abby Herb of Washington, Ashley Stulken of Xavier and Mykaela Brandt of Linn-Mar also were named first team all-MVC in the Valley Division.

Maddie Koolbeck of Jefferson and Steph Botkin of Kennedy were named first team all-MVC in the Mississippi Division. Ally Disterhoft of Iowa City West was honored as the Athlete of the Year in the Mississippi Division.

Steve Doser, who led Prairie to its first conference title in school history, was named the Coach of the Year in the Valley Division.

ALL-MVC GIRLS BASKETBALL

VALLEY DIVISION

FIRST TEAM

Dani Franklin (Washington), Blaire Thomas (Waterloo West), Madison Dellamuth (Prairie), Alisa Weiland (Prairie), Abby Herb (Washington), Ashley Stulken (Xavier), Mykaela Brandt (Linn-Mar).

SECOND TEAM

Logan Lynch (Wahlert), Aleena Hobbs (Washington), Haley Puk (Waterloo West), Courteney McCrary (Prairie), Madison Wood (Cedar Falls), Sarah Dickes (Xavier), Sara Strauel (Linn-Mar).

ATHLETE OF YEAR: Dani Franklin (Washington). COACH OF YEAR: Steve Doser (Prairie).

Dani Franklin tops all-MVC squad

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 20 February 2013 15:12 -

HONORABLE MENTION

Metro Only

Cyerra Hutchins (Prairie), Olivia Usher (Prairie), Madison Kramer (Washington), Colby Bjornsen (Washington), Hayley Deutmeyer (Xavier), Kayla Armstrong (Xavier), Courtney Major (Linn-Mar), Kristen Eiles (Linn-Mar).

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Only Alisa Weiland (Prairie), Courteney McCrary (Prairie), Colby Bjornsen (Washington), Annie Detweiler (Washington), Alli Chorzempa (Xavier), Sarah Dickes (Xavier), Hannah Yearling (Linn-Mar), Alexis Libenguth (Linn-Mar).

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM

Ally Disterhoft (IC West), Mickey Hansche (IC High), Haley Lorenzen (IC High), Kristie Sommer (Dubuque Senior), Maddie Koolbeck (Jefferson), Katie Sommer (Dubuque Senior), Steph Botkin (Kennedy).

SECOND TEAM

Kiera Washpun (IC High), Paige Hendrickson (Kennedy), Madi Meier (Kennedy), Ashley Dolan (Hempstead), Nakiah Kimble (Dubuque Senior), Taylor Jacobson (Jefferson), Danielle Craig (IC West).

ATHLETE OF YEAR: Ally Disterhoft (IC West). COACH OF YEAR: Bill McTaggart (IC High).

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Only Kaitlyn Davidson (Jefferson), Amanda Ollinger (Jefferson), Jordan Holmes (Kennedy), Brianna Vis (Kennedy).

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Only Maddie Koolbeck (Jefferson), Dani Stromert (Jefferson), Brianna Vis (Kennedy), Mati Schwartzhoff (Kennedy).