Bergstrom honored in MVC soccer

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 28 May 2013 14:48 -

The Mississippi Valley Conference soccer coaches have named Austin Bergstrom of Cedar Rapids Washington as the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division for 2013.

Mike Robertson and Steve Robertson, the co-coaches at Kennedy, were named Coaches of the Year in the Mississippi Division.

Jack Sundermann and Jacob Bjornsen joined Bergstrom as first-team selections in the Valley Division from Washington. Ben Johnson (Linn-Mar), Hunter Wong (Linn-Mar), Isaac Frisch (Xavier), Eli Smith (Xavier), Logan Rinderknecht (Prairie) and Matt Christen (Prairie) also were named first-team picks in the Valley Division.

Nathan Althoff, Killian Magee, Ryan Walker, Mitch Bobbin and Nikolas Newcamp from Kennedy were first-team selections in the Mississippi Division.

MVC ALL-DIVISION SOCCER

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

Athlete of Year: Fernando Pacheco (Iowa City High) Coach of Year: Mike Robertson & Steve Roberston (Kennedy)

FIRST TEAM GOALKEEPER - Nathan Althoff (Kenendy) FORWARD - Paris Martins (IC West) FORWARD/MIDFIELDER - Fernando Pacheco (IC High), Alejandro Pacheco (IC High) MIDFIELDER - Luke Mennen (IC West), Mueng Sunday (IC West), Killian Magee (Kennedy), Ryan Walker (Kennedy), Bobby McCaw (Hempstead) MIDFIELDER/DEFENDER - Adam Nicholson (IC High) DEFENDER - Aaron Mille (IC West), EJ Schroder (IC West), Mitch Bobbin (Kennedy), Nikolas Newcamp (Kennedy). Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 28 May 2013 14:48 -

SECOND TEAM GOALKEEPER - Ryan Holte (IC West) FORWARD - Justin Baker (IC West), Sameeullah Jung (Kennedy), Reece Suckow (Jefferson) MIDFIELDER - Omar El Ramady (IC West), Garrett Grimsman (IC West), Andrew Sheeley (Kennedy) DEFENDER - Jack Olson (IC West), Grant Lewis (IC High), Niall Oliver (IC High), Scott Tribbey (IC High), Tommy Bitter (Hempstead), Brandon Harkrider (Waterloo East), Nolan Howe (Dubuque Senior)

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Only JEFFERSON - Ian Karr, Hussin Al-Yassiri KENNEDY - Nick Waterhouse, Nate Waterhouse

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Only JEFFERSON - Alec Archer, Kyler Schoner KENNEDY - Zach Russell, Nolan Butler

VALLEY DIVISION

Athlete of Year: Austin Bergstrom (Washington) Coach of Year: Josh Printz (Cedar Falls)

FIRST TEAM GOALKEEPER - Don Ticknor (Waterloo West) FORWARD - Jack Sundermann (Washington), Ahmad Shehata (Cedar Falls), Ben Johnson (Linn-Mar), Isaac Frisch (Xavier), Logan Rinderknecht (Prairie) FORWARD/MIDFIELDER - Eli Smith (Xavier), Harry Brocka (Cedar Falls) MIDFIELDER - Hunter Wong (Linn-Mar), Austin Bergstrom (Washington) DEFENDER - Jacob Bjornsen (Washington), Jackson Nichols (Cedar Falls), Nick Nemmers (Wahlert), Matt Christen (Prairie)

Bergstrom honored in MVC soccer

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 28 May 2013 14:48 -

SECOND TEAM GOALKEEPER - Paul Cavin (Xavier) FORWARD - Luke Heindl (Cedar Falls), Chris Cleope (Waterloo West) MIDFIELDER - Kimu Kasha (Washington), Boris Licona-Moreno (Washington), Connor Ramlo (Xavier), Alex Haag (Xavier), Spencer Gaddis (Prairie), Salvedin Begic (Waterloo West), Jacob Newton (Cedar Falls), Jack Ramsey (Linn-Mar), Justin Green (Linn-Mar), Sam Drysdale (Prairie), Alec Dietzel (Wahlert)

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Only WASHINGTON - Gunnar Lenzen, Evan Fisher, Mike Eken PRAIRIE - Nerm Ibrahimovic, Seth Rinderknecht XAVIER - Bryan Curphey, Mason Hoxie LINN-MAR - Aaron House, Julian Germer

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Only PRAIRIE - Matt Christen, Adam Kueny WAHINGTON - Max Newcamp, Peter Holmes XAVIER - Eli Smith, Alex Haag LINN-MAR - Joe Talley, Aaron House