Trcka Valley bowler of the year

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 25 February 2011 16:29 -

Xavier sophomore Tara Trcka has been named the Mississippi Valley Conference Valley Division bowler of the year, the league announced Friday.

Trcka was named the Metro bowler of the year earlier in the day. She won the Class 1A state championship Thursday.

Trcka, Jefferson junior Courtney Moore and Iowa City West senior Allie Volk were unanimous first team selections. Jefferson junior Whitnie Jones and senior Allie Trcka also were first team picks.

Jefferson's Virg Cerveny was named the Valley Division coach of the year.

Linn-Mar's Abbey Stenersen was a unanimous selection to the Mississippi Division first team. Washington freshman Keely Pernicka also was on the first team.

Washington's Traci Mooney was named Mississippi Division co-coach of the year.

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE GIRLS BOWLING

(* -- unanimous selection)

Valley Division

First Team

Trcka Valley bowler of the year

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 25 February 2011 16:29 -

*Courtney Moore, jr., Jefferson; *Tara Trcka, soph., Xavier; *Allie Volk, sr., Iowa City West; Whitnie Jones, jr., Jefferson; Allie Trcka, sr., Jefferson; Breanna Fecht, sr., Waterloo East.

Second Team

Nicole Petersen, soph., Jefferson; Jenn Alff, sr., Jefferson; Nicole Werling, sr., Jefferson; Katie Klein, sr., Hempstead; Katie Gruber, jr., Hempstead; Jami Kadolph, jr., Prairie.

Honorable Mention

Jefferson -- Jessie Alff, Anna Striegel; Prairie -- Kate Palmer, Niona Bruce; Xavier -- Aileen Conway, Ayssa Schuster.

All-Academic Team

Jefferson -- Werling, Striegel; Xavier -- Schuster, Conway; Prairie -- Kadolph.

Valley Division Female Bowler of the Year -- Tara Trcka, Xavier

Valley Division Coach of the Year - Virg Cerveny, Jefferson

Mississippi Division

First Team

Trcka Valley bowler of the year

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 25 February 2011 16:29 -

*Kelsey Gregory, sr., Wahlert; *Molly O'Brien, sr., Dubuque Senior; *Abbey Stenersen, jr., Linn-Mar; Nicole Nelson, sr., Waterloo West; Kristina Hochrein, soph., Wahlert; Keely Pernicka, fr., Washington.

Second Team

Stacey Schwarzenstein, jr., Linn-Mar; Amanda Wiedemeier, soph., Kennedy; Paige Ermer, sr., Kennedy; Alicia Gerken, sr., Dubuque Senior; Taylor Leonard, sr., Iowa City High; Kayla Shirk, sr., Waterloo West.

Honorable Mention

Kennedy -- Alecia McEachran, Ashley Hoppe; Washington -- Rachel Spencer, Olivia LaGrange; Linn-Mar -- Valerie Loudenback, McKenzie Routhe.

All-Academic Team

Washington -- Spencer, LaGrange; Kennedy -- Ermer, McEachran; Linn-Mar -- Stenersen.

Mississippi Division Female Bowler of the Year -- Kelsey Gregory, Wahlert.

Mississippi Division Co-Coaches of the Year -- Traci Mooney, Washington; Tom Kramer, Wahlert.