Jeff's Hansen, Prairie's Kuch top players in MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 22 July 2013 15:26 -

Jefferson sophomore catcher Maddie Hansen and Prairie senior pitcher Katie Kuch have been named Mississippi Valley Conference Players of the Year in softball, the conference announced Monday.

Hansen is batting .496 with seven home runs and 67 RBIs. She is second in the state in RBIs and leads Class 5A.

Kuch is 21-7 with a 2.15 ERA. She has struck out 111 batters in 182 1/3 innings.

Both Jefferson and Prairie, along with Dubuque Senior, qualified for the Class 5A state tournament that starts Tuesday at Fort Dodge.

Metro players dominated the Valley Division teams, taking 11 of 12 first team spots. Kuch was joined on the first team by Prairie teammates Gabi Carter, Brittney Lash and Mallory Jones. Xavier and Linn-Mar had three first-team players apiece - Erin Drahozal, Erica Miller and Sydney Galligan from Xavier, and Alexis Kelsey, Kortlan Ollinger and Maddy Ryan from Linn-Mar. Washington's Bria Lenten also was on the first team.

Lash was the lone unanimous selection on the Valley Division first team.

There were five unanimous selections on the Mississippi Division first team, two from Jefferson. Hansen was joined by sophomore batterymate Alyssa Olson.

Other first team players in Mississippi Division from the Metro were Jefferson seniors Kaitlyn Davidson and Dani Stromert, and Kennedy eighth grader Ashley Hamilton.

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE SOFTBALL (** - Unanimous selection)

Jeff's Hansen, Prairie's Kuch top players in MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 22 July 2013 15:26 -

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Maddie Hansen (CRJ)

Coaching staff of the Year - Jason Loeffelholz (DS)

First Team

Pitcher - **AJ Medinger (DS)

Pitcher - **Alyssa Olson (CRJ)

Catcher - **Maddie Hansen (CRJ)

Infield - **Katie Sommer (DS)

Infield - Kaitlyn Davidson (CRJ)

Infield - Katelynn Kinnetz (WE)

Infield - Ashley Hamilton (CRK)

Outfield - **Bryn Hanrahan (ICH)

Outfield - Hailey Koerperich (DH)

Outfield - Dani Stromert (CRJ)

Utility - Kristie Sommer (DS)

Utility - Bri Hightshoe (ICH)

Second Team

Pitcher - Natalie Jacobsmeier (DS)

Pitcher - Jordan Albrecht (DH)

Catcher - Ashley Kubik (WE)

Infield - Sydney Tigges (DS)

Infield - Maddie Koolbeck (CRJ)

Infield - Adara Opiola (ICW)

Infield - Kenzi Wroe (WE)

Outfield - Amber Grimm (CRJ)

Outfield - Katie Henry (WE)

Jeff's Hansen, Prairie's Kuch top players in MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 22 July 2013 15:26 -

Outfield - Shelby Yoder (ICH)

Utility - Erin Weno (ICH)

Utility - Hope Koerperich (DH)

Honorable Mention (Metro Teams) Jefferson - Erin Kuba, Brooke Stauffer Kennedy - Lauren Kubovec, Tianna Drahn

All-Academic (Metro Teams) Jefferson - Maddie Koolbeck, Dani Stromert Kennedy - Heather McKinnon, Taylor Sohn

VALLEY DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Katie Kuch (CRP)

Coaching staff of the Year - Nikki Price (CRX)

First Team

Pitcher - Katie Kuch (CRP)

Pitcher - Erin Drahozal (CRX)

Catcher - Erica Miller (CRX)

Infield - Alexis Kelsey (LM)

Infield - Maddy Nilles (DW)

Infield - Gabi Carter (CRP)

Infield - Bria Lenten (CRW)

Outfield - **Brittney Lash (CRP)

Outfield - Sydney Galligan (CRX)

Outfield - Kortlan Ollinger (LM)

Utility - Mallory Jones (CRP)

Utility - Maddy Ryan (LM)

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 22 July 2013 15:26 -

Second Team

Pitcher - Jaclyn Spencer (WW)

Pitcher - Kelsey Aikey (CF)

Catcher - Aly O'Brian (CRP)

Infield - Jenna Schulte (CRX)

Infield - Malia Gudenkauf (CRP)

Infield - Payton Bruner (CRW)

Infield - Lexi Daman (WW)

Outfield - Anna Doering (WW)

Outfield - Olivia Usher (CRP)

Outfield - Courtney Colston (CRX)

Utility - Natalie Rumer (CRP)

Utility - Elison Ollinger (LM)

Honorable Mention (Metro Teams) Prairie - Halle Lueck, Amanda Stecklein Washington - Kirsten Peterson Xavier - Allison Schwach, Hayley Deutmeyer Linn-Mar - Kelsey Duggan, Madison Rentschler

All-Academic (Metro Teams) Prairie - Katie Kuch, Aly O'Brian Washington - Anne Riley, Kirsten Peterson Xavier - Sydney Galligan, Erica Miller Linn-Mar - Kelsey Duggan, Hannah Yearling