5 Metro boys make all-MVC hoops

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 06 March 2014 15:44 -

Five players from the Metro area have received first-team honors on the 2014 Mississippi Valley Conference boys basketball team.

Adam McDermott of Xavier, Jordan Bohannon of Linn-Mar and Mike Mims of Prairie were named first team all-conference in the Valley Division.

A.J. Carter of Kennedy and Jacob Olson of Jefferson were named first team all-conference in the Mississippi Division.

All five players are guards. McDermott, Bohannon and Carter were unanimous selections.

2014 MVC BASKETBALL

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team

Adam McDermott (Xavier), Cordell Pemsl (Wahlert), Jordan Bohannon (Linn-Mar), Mike Mims (Prairie), Keeon Johnson (Cedar Falls), Josh Carter (Wahlert), Lincoln Conrey (Waterloo West).

Second Team

Durrell Jackson (Cedar Falls), Jared Walker (Wahlert), Nolan Timp (Wahlert), Calvin Winker (Xavier), Jared Printy (Washington), Nic Uhlir (Linn-Mar), Alex Landers (Waterloo West).

Honorable Mention (Metro Only) Prairie - Mitch Lorenz, Cal Clark Washington - Maurice Arrington, Jake Kramer Xavier - Matt Nelson, Mitchell Burger Linn-Mar - Lane Halupnik, Jon Schlotterback

5 Metro boys make all-MVC hoops

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 06 March 2014 15:44 -

All-Academic (Metro Only) Prairie - Austin Schrader, Michael Mims Washington - Carlos Nelson, Jacob Kramer Xavier - Matt Nelson, Michael Biermann Linn-Mar - Jon Schlotterback, Darrin Eby

Athlete of the Year - Cordell Pemsl, Wahlert Coach of the Year - Tom English, Wahlert

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team

Kyle Haber (Dubuque Senior), Wyatt Lohaus (Iowa City West), A.J. Carter (Kennedy), David DiLeo (Iowa City West), Jacob Olson (Jefferson), Martell Wilson (Hempstead), Seth Bonifas (Dubuque Senior).

Second Team

Luke McDonnell (Dubuque Senior), Cole Murdock (Kennedy), Robert Duax (Hempstead), Ondrea Bradford (Waterloo East), Tyler Konigsmark (Jefferson), Ladarius Taylor (Iowa City High), Chike Ukah (Iowa City West).

Honorable Mention (Metro Only) Jefferson - Brandon Wiederin, Jake Van Oort Kennedy - Drew Heitland, John Bardsley

All-Academic Jefferson - Jake Van Oort, Curtis Waltmann Kennedy - Austin Holzer, Drew Heitland

5 Metro boys make all-MVC hoops

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 06 March 2014 15:44 -

Athletes of the Year - Kyle Haber, Dubuque Senior; Wyatt Lohaus, Iowa City West Coach of the Year - Wendell Eimers, Dubuque Senior