MVC boys soccer all-conference

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 28 May 2011 19:34 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:04

Xavier senior Zach Smith, who led the Saints to a season-long No. 1 ranking and a co-share of the Mississippi Valley Conference Valley Division title, has been named the Valley Division boys soccer athlete of the year.

Smith, who is out for the state tournament after suffering a knee injury, was joined on the first team by teammates Michael Tessmer and Tim Bouchard. Other Metro athletes on the first team are Prairie's Colyn Snyder and Brady Anderson, and Jefferson keeper Andrew Patience. Xavier's Amir Hadzic is the Valley Division coach of the year.

Metro scoring leader Garet Christianson of Kennedy and his brother Gabe Christianson are on the Mississippi Division first team. Other Metro athletes on the first team are Washington's Austin Bergstrom, Brandon Besong and Camron Harrison, and Linn-Mar's Braxton Lancial. Athlete of the year is Iowa City High's J.D. McCullough and City High's Jose Michel Fajardo is coach of the year.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE BOYS SOCCER TEAMS

Mississippi Division

First Team

Forwards

Garet Christianson (CR Kennedy)

Sam Koenig (Dubuque Wahlert)

Jon Marshall (Dubuque Senior)

J.D. McCullough (Iowa City High)

Fernando Pacheco (Iowa City High)

Midfielders

Austin Bergstrom (CR Washington)

Brandon Besong (CR Washington)

Gabe Christianson (CR Kennedy)

Alen Kajtezovic (Waterloo West)

Taylor McBurney (Iowa City High)

Defenders

Braxton Lancial (Linn-Mar)

MVC boys soccer all-conference

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 28 May 2011 19:34 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:04

Keepers

Camron Harrison (CR Washington)
Zak Kohlmeyer (Waterloo West)

Second Team

Midfielders -- Ryan Gingrich (Linn-Mar), Shane Glenn (CR Kennedy), Haris Hadzalic (Waterloo West), Nick Helling (Dubuque Wahlert), Kimu Kasha (CR Washington), Luke Mennen (Iowa City High), Charlie Parks (CR Washington)

Defenders -- Mike Kemp (Dubuque Wahlert), Mason Krusie (Linn-Mar), Devyn Lewis (Iowa City High), Daren Mangold (CR Washington), Ben Schroder (Iowa City High)

Keeper -- Ben Feltes (CR Kennedy)

Honorable Mention

CR Kennedy -- Nick Bruns, Matt Peak
CR Washington -- Joe Eken, Alex Zalesky
Dubuque Senior -- Sam Herbst, Brent Wilker
Dubuque Wahlert -- Shane Broderick, Ryan Ernst
Iowa City High -- Tyler Chavez, Sterling Harris
Linn-Mar -- Matt McKillip, Mike Zimmerman

Waterloo West -- Peter Bernstrom, Dakota Hottle

Athlete of the Year -- J.D. McCullough (Iowa City High)

Coach of the Year -- Jose Michel Fajardo (Iowa City High)

Valley Division

First Team

Forwards

Philip Tran (Cedar Falls)

Zach Smith (CR Xavier)

Midfielders

Brady Anderson (CR Prairie)

Paris Martins (Iowa City West)

Muhammed Shehata (Cedar Falls)

Colyn Snyder (CR Prairie)

Mueng Sunday (Iowa City West)

Michael Tessmer (CR Xavier)

Defenders

Tim Bouchard (CR Xavier)

Nick Hullerman (Cedar Falls)

Clay Walker (Iowa City West)

Keepers

Andrew Patience (CR Jefferson)

Jordan Steuer (Dubuque Hempstead)

MVC boys soccer all-conference

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 28 May 2011 19:34 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:04

Second Team

Forward -- Tanner Schilling (Iowa City West)

Midfielders -- Chad Gilmer (CR Xavier), Luke Newhaus (CR Xavier), Peter Tran (Cedar Falls), Alex Troester (Iowa City West)

Defenders -- Tom Bales (CR Xavier), Zach Brunscheen (CR Prairie), Jeremy Dolder (Iowa City West), Andrew Malley (Cedar Falls), Ben Reasoner (Iowa City West), Jake Schmidt (CR Jefferson)

Keepers -- Nathan Even (CR Xavier), Juan Martinez (Waterloo East)

Honorable Mention

Cedar Falls -- Jacob Fagersten, Ahmad Shehata

CR Jefferson -- Ali Al-Yasseri, Zach Trcka

CR Prairie -- Spencer Gaddis, Santiago Ortiz

CR Xavier -- Logan Buschette, Josh Steffensmeier

Dubuque Hempstead -- Nick Berger, Dylan Doerges

Iowa City West -- Ryan Holte, Michale Thomas

Waterloo East -- Admir Bubic, Javier Cardoza

Athlete of the Year -- Zach Smith (CR Xavier)

Coach of the Year -- Amir Hadzic (CR Xavier)