Wash places 2 girls on MVC tennis 1st team

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 31 May 2011 16:20 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:03

Washington's Katie Hammond and Kristin King were unanimous first team selections for the Mississippi Valley Conference Mississippi Division girls tennis team released Tuesday.

Kennedy's Jackie Pedersen and Linn-Mar's Katie Rakers also were unanimous picks for the Mississippi Division first team.

Xavier's Lisa Cowden and Jefferson's Anna Streigel were first team picks in the Valley Division.

Sarah Dalton of Dubuque Wahlert was chosen the Mississippi Division Athlete of the Year. Iowa City West's Lola White-Baer won the same honor in the Valley Division.

Washington's Dan Reyner was Mississippi Division Coach of the Year. Kay DiLeo of Iowa City West was the Valley Division winner.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE GIRLS TENNIS TEAMS

*-Unanimous selection

Mississippi Division

First Team

- *Sarah Dalton (Dubuque Wahlert)
- *Katie Hammond (CR Washington)
- *Kristin King (CR Washington)
- *Celia Morton (Dubuque Wahlert)
- *Jackie Pedersen (CR Kennedy)
- *Katie Rakers (Linn-Mar)

Second Team

Olivia Brooks (CR Washington) Kathleen Hutchinson (Dubuque Wahlert) Sarah Lasecki (CR Kennedy) Haley Madsen (Linn-Mar) Katie Meyer (Dubuque Wahlert) Jenna Myers (Linn-Mar)

Honorable Mention

Kennedy -- Kali Hildebrand, Ashley Schlueter Washington -- Rina Moore, Lanie Sabin Dubuque Senior -- Virginia Meurer, Molly Schmerbach Dubuque Wahlert -- Elizabeth Ott, Courtney Schneider Iowa City High -- Lindsey Hall, Abby Saehler Linn-Mar -- Anna Gromotka, Ashley Smith Waterloo West -- Kelsey Anderson, Kelsey Elfritz

Athlete of the Year -- Sarah Dalton (Wahlert)

Wash places 2 girls on MVC tennis 1st team

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 31 May 2011 16:20 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:03

Coach of the Year -- Dan Reyner (CR Washington)

Valley Division

First Team
Lisa Cowden (CR Xavier)
*Olivia Lofgren (Iowa City West)
*Lilli Oetting (Iowa City West)
Anna Streigel (CR Jefferson)
Lauren Taylor (Dubuque Hempstead)
*Lola White-Baer (Iowa City West)

Second Team
Laura Birky (CR Xavier)
Caroline Rainey (CR Prairie)
Addy Riley (IC West)
Rachel Splinter (Hempstead)
Crystal Terman (Jefferson)
Katie Todd (Cedar Falls)
Elena Wilson (IC West)

Honorable Mention
Cedar Falls -- Halle Benson, Tracy Lukasiewicz
Jefferson -- Veronica Day, Megan Smothers
Prairie -- Karissa Kalous, Tasha Olson
Xavier -- Sarah Chalhoub, Taylor O'Brien
Hempstead -- Abbey Ahlrichs, Nina Streauslin
IC West -- Ashlin Riley
Waterloo East -- Brenna Goodrich, Juran Kim

Athlete of the Year -- Lola White-Baer (IC West)

Coach of the Year -- Kay DiLeo (IC West)