Happel named Mississippi Division soccer athlete of the year

Kennedy senior Shauna Happel was named Mississippi Division girls soccer athlete of the year in a vote of Mississippi Valley Conference coaches.

There were 16 Metro athletes named to first teams, nine in the Mississppi Division and seven in the Valley Division.

Kennedy, Washington, Linn-Mar and Xavier had three representatives on the first team, Jefferson and Prairie two apiece.

Kennedy's Homer Screws was named Mississippi Division coach of the year.

lowa City West had four girls on the Valley Division first team. West's Emma Winstead was athlete of the year and Dave Rosenthal coach of the year.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE GIRLS SOCCER All-Conference Teams

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team Shauna Happel. Kennedy Katie Helmlinger, Kennedy Tory Harman, Kennedy Morgan Bjornsen, Washington Ashley Piper, Washington Jessica Erb, Washington Madisen Garman, Linn-Mar Brinkly Werkman, Linn-Mar Brinkly Werkman, Linn-Mar Kali Hubler, Linn-Mar Amara Schlader, Dubuque Wahlert Ellie Rauch, Dubuque Wahlert Maria Wagenhofer, Waterloo West Abby Schroder, Iowa City High

Happel named Mississippi Division soccer athlete of the year

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 14 June 2011 02:35 - Last Updated Thursday, 16 June 2011 00:08

Second Team Kaela Dickerman, Kennedy Liz Frerichs, Kennedy Hannah Palomo, Kennedy Sophi Malcolm, Washington Anne Cooper, Washington Katie Hammond, Washington Lindsey Harms, Linn-Mar Emily Saville, Linn-Mar Sara Doerr, Dubuque Wahlert Alyssa Klosetrmann, Dubuque Wahlert Macy Kosar, Waterloo West Brie Burkart, Waterloo West Katie Husemann, Iowa City High

Honorable Mention Linn-Mar -- Leandra Martins, Erica Noyes Washington -- Tori Carson, Maddi Hines Kennedy -- Jordan Holmes, Emily Feltes Wahlert -- Hanna Burgmeier, Ashley Rodham Dubuque Senior -- Erica Tebon, Katie Fuller Iowa City High -- Sarah Hichwa, Melanie O'Meara Waterloo West -- Allison Richman, Rachel Gruetzmacher

Athlete of the Year -- Shauna Happel, Kennedy

Coach of the Year -- Homer Screws, Kennedy

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team Nicole Rondeau, Iowa City West Erin Wilson, Iowa City West Emma Winstead, Iowa City West Quinn Steigleder, Iowa City West Kayla Armstrong, Xavier Tori Shepard, Xavier Sammi Shepard, Xavier Maggie Bruckman, Jefferson Trina Gallagher, Jefferson Rachel Carney, Prairie Katilyn Yanecek, Prairie Desi Deery, Cedar Falls Allison Bitter, Dubuque Hempstead

Happel named Mississippi Division soccer athlete of the year

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 14 June 2011 02:35 - Last Updated Thursday, 16 June 2011 00:08

Second Team Rachel Hegeman, Iowa City West Anna Hausler, Iowa City West Brenna Gray, Iowa City West Lucy Martin, Xavier Mary Levett, Xavier Annie Dale, Xavier Riley Kesterson, Jefferson Elissa Musil, Prairie Allie Gerhart, Cedar Falls Meredith Roethler, Cedar Falls Alicia Bowden, Dubuque Hempstead Stephanie Cox, Dubuque Hempstead Ashley Babinat, Waterloo East

Honorable Mention Cedar Falls -- Jordi Powell, Justein Powell Hempstead -- Morghen Philippi, Amelia Kratz Jefferson -- Jordan Cue, Chelsea Anderson Prairie -- Emily Musil, Bree Gaster Xavier -- Kelsie Sargent, Sarah Dickes Waterloo East -- Caitlyn Murray, Heather O'Brien Iowa City West -- Alli Peterson, Jayne Heinrich

Athlete of the Year -- Emma Winstead, Iowa City West

Coach of the Year -- Dave Rosenthal, Iowa City West