Busswitz, Fluent honored in MVC volleyball

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 04 November 2015 11:51 -

Kate Busswitz of Cedar Rapids Prairie and Anna Fluent of Kennedy have been named Athletes of the Year on the Mississippi Valley Conference honor squads in volleyball.

Busswitz was selected in the Mississippi Division and Fluent was honored in the Valley Division. Lynnette Stecklein of Prairie was named the Mississippi Division Coach of the Year.

Kenzie Soeken of Prairie and Charlotte Richards of Xavier joined Busswitz on the Mississippi Division first team. Amanda Ollinger of Linn-Mar, Macy Anderson of Kennedy and Ellie Anderson of Linn-Mar joined Fluent on the Valley Division first team.

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION First Team

Alexa Aldrich-Ingram (IC High), Kate Busswitz (Prairie), Kasey Davis (Hempstead), Hope Splinter (Hempstead), Kenzie Soeken (Prairie), Ashley Smith (IC High), Charlotte Richards (Xavier), Ashley Cary (Waterloo East).

Second Team

Kendra Gaskill (Prairie), Megan Oldenburger (Prairie), Makayla Doyle (Hempstead), Nicole Simmerman (Waterloo West), Elizabeth Fleckenstein (Hempstead), Kendra Cave (IC High), Shannon Stamp (IC High), Jessica Callahan (Xavier).

Honorable Mention (Metro Only)

Rylee Blood (Prairie), Kristin Wahlert (Prairie), Brittany Hoeger (Washington), Emily Heinrich (Washington), Lexi Noonan (Xavier), Kaylee Watson (Xavier).

Busswitz, Fluent honored in MVC volleyball

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 04 November 2015 11:51 -

Player of Year - Kate Busswitz (Prairie)
Coach of Year - Lynnette Stecklein (Prairie)

VALLEY DIVISION First Team

Amanda Ollinger (Linn-Mar), Mackenzie May (Wahlert), Anna Fluent (Kennedy), Macy Anderson (Kennedy), Ellie Anderson (Linn-Mar), Alicia Harrington (Cedar Falls), Tayah Mahi (Cedar Falls), Ali Tauchen (IC West).

Second Team

Grace Burken (Cedar Falls), Emily Halverson (IC West), Emilee McGowan (Linn-Mar), Carly Spies (Linn-Mar), Paige Franck (Kennedy), Brinley Milbrath (Kennedy), Kelly Boge (Wahlert), Maddie Slagle (Jefferson).

Honorable Mention (Metro Only)

Kristen Naber (Jefferson), Kaylee Donner (Jefferson), Tianna Drahn (Kennedy), Kendal Meier (Kennedy), Megan Renner (Linn-Mar), Ariana Rolle (Linn-Mar).

Athlete of the Year - Anna Fluent (Kennedy)
Coach of the Year - Matt Johnson (Cedar Falls)