Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 14 July 2011 21:51 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:05

Jefferson juniors Hannah Petersen and Rachel Sedlacek, Xavier senior Tyler Sampson and Linn-Mar freshman Ellie Rizor all were unanimous first team selections to the Mississippi Valley Conference all-conference teams released Friday.

The teams were chosen by a vote of MVC coaches.

Petersen, Sedlacek and Sampson were named to the Valley Division first team, Rizor was chosen for the Mississippi Division first team.

Prairie senior catcher Sheby Crist was the only other Metro player selected to the Valley Division first team.

Linn-Mar placed three members on the Mississippi Division first team. Rizor was chosen as a utility player. Sophomores Kelsey Duggan and Kortlan Ollinger also were picked for the team.

Washington's Jordan Carr also was first team in the Mississippi Division.

Hempstead senior Hannah Koerperich was named the Valley Division athlete of the year. Coaches of the year were Alisha Frese and the Hempstead staff.

Waterloo West senior Jadyn Spencer, who set the Iowa all-time home run record and was a dominating pitcher, was the Mississippi Division athlete of the year. West Coach Tammy Utley and the Wahawk staff were named coaching staff of the year.

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS (* - Unanimous selections)

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team

Written by Metro Sports Report

Thursday, 14 July 2011 21:51 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:05

- P *Hannah Petersen (CRJ), jr.
- P Hannah Koerperich (DH), sr.
- C Shelby Crist (CRP), sr.
- IF *Tyler Sampson (CRX), sr.
- IF Krista Grutz (DH), sr.
- IF Tatum Klein (ICW), jr.
- IF Katelyn Kinnetz (WE), so.
- OF *Rachel Sedlacek (CRJ), jr.
- OF Hailey Koerperich (DH), so.
- OF Amanda Hovind (DH), sr.
- U Mackenzie Laux (ICW), jr.
- U Alyson Netty (WE), jr.

Second Team

- P Shelly Stumpff (ICW), jr.
- P Jacey Wiebold (CRX), so.
- C Michaela Recker (ICW), so.
- IF Kenna Fry (CRJ), jr.
- IF Alise Miller (ICW), sr.
- IF Kristen Winter (CRX), sr.
- IF Anna Strien (CF), fr.
- OF Lauren Larson (ICW), so.
- OF Maggie Nichols (WE), jr.
- OF Paige Miller (CF), jr.
- U Abby Bedard (CRX), sr.
- U Lauren Smith (CF), jr.

Honorable Mention

Cedar Falls - Cassy Herkelman, Alyssa Aikey

Jefferson - Kailey Drake, Carson Burgart

Prairie - Katie Wieland, Taylor Stecklein

Xavier - Emily Walton, Courtney Colston

Hempstead - Audrey Gronen, Taylor Riedl

Iowa City West - Brianna Sturtz, Mackenzie Haight

Waterloo East - Kesley Rash, Katie Henry

All-Academic

Prairie - Katie Carver, Katie Wieland

Jefferson - Katie Naber, Carson Burgart

Xavier - Abby Bedard, Kristen Winter

Hempstead - Taylor Riedl, Audrey Gronen

Iowa City West - Alise Miller, Brianna Sturtz

Waterloo East - Kesley Rash, Alyson Netty

Cedar Falls - Lauren Smith

Athlete of the Year - Hannah Koerperich (DH), sr.

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 14 July 2011 21:51 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:05

Coaching Staff of the Year - Alisha Frese and Hempstead

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team

- P *Jadyn Spencer (WW), sr.
- P *Erin Weno (ICH), so.
- C Nikki Burian (ICH), sr.
- IF *Katie Sommer (DS), fr.
- IF Kelsey Duggan (LM), so.
- IF Jordan Carr (CRW), sr.
- IF Meghan Payne (WW), so.
- OF Lindsey Hansen (WW), jr.
- OF Kortlan Ollinger (LM), so.
- OF Kaitlyn Burds (DW), sr.
- U *Ellie Rizor (LM), fr.
- U MacKenzie VanDenBerg (WW), sr.

Second Team

- P Gabby Tath (DW), fr.
- P A.J. Medinger (DS), 8th
- C Kristie Sommer (DS), fr.
- IF Maggie Rizor (LM), fr.
- IF Brie Hightshoe (ICH), so.
- IF Megan Rokusek (DW), sr.
- IF Erin Coker (CRK), fr.
- OF Leandra Martins (LM), sr.
- OF Brie Burkhart (WW), so.
- OF Liz Reuter (DS), jr.
- U Haley Zenner (DS), jr.
- U Taylor Wagner (CRK), so.

Honorable Mention

Kennedy - Heather McKinnon, Amanda Gaffey

Washington - Bria Lenten, Sam Short

Dubuque Senior - Jess Gerardy, Natalie Jacobsmeier

Dubuque Wahlert - Alex Bahl, Maddy Nilles

Iowa City High - Kira Dailey, Peyton Koenig

Linn-Mar - Lindsey Harms, Alexis Kelsey

Waterloo West - Alex Dahlgaard, Diana Lichty

All-Academic

Kennedy - Kassi Nunnikhoven, Amanda Gaffey

Washington - Gail Barnum, Jordon Pilcher

Dubuque Senior - Liz Reuter, Haley Zenner

Dubuque Wahlert - Holly Klein, Megan Rokusek

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 14 July 2011 21:51 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:05

Iowa City High - Jena Heise, Nikki Burian Linn-Mar - Lindsey Harms, Leandra Martins Waterloo West - Jadyn Spencer, MacKenzie VanDenBerg

Athlete of the Year - Jadyn Spencer (WW), sr.

Coaching staff of the Year - Tammy Utley and Waterloo West