Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 22 February 2012 12:58 - Last Updated Friday, 24 February 2012 18:04

Cedar Rapids Kennedy senior Courtney Strait collected a pair of big honors Wednesday.

Strait was named the Athlete of the Year for girls basketball in the Mississippi Valley Conference (Mississippi Division) and in the Metro area, based on voting by coaches.

Strait, a 5-foot-9 guard, leads all Class 4A scorers this season with an average of 20.9 points per game.

Danielle Franklin of Washington, Madison Dellamuth of Prairie and Maddie Koolbeck of Jefferson joined Strait as first-team selections on the all-MVC and all-Metro teams.

Katyln Andersen of Xavier was a first-team choice on the all-conference team. Emily Walvoord of Xavier, Mykaela Brandt of Linn-Mar and Dani Peyton of Marion were first-team picks on the all-Metro squad.

Tom Lilly of Xavier was named the Metro Coach of the Year. The Saints are the only Metro team that will play in the state tournament next week in Des Moines.

#### ALL-MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE

## MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM: Danielle Franklin\* (CRW), Mickey Hansche (ICH), Tessa Leytem\* (DW), Kristie Sommer (DS), Courtney Strait\* (CRK), Blaire Thomas\* (WW), Claire Till (DW).

SECOND TEAM: Mykaela Brandt (LM), Sierra Chambers (ICH), Zinka Duric (WW), Haley Puk (WW), Jazz Royster (CRW), Katie Sommer (DS), Beth Walker (DW).

HONORABLE MENTION: Paige Hendrickson (CRK), Stephanie Botkin (CRK), Abby Herb (CRW), Madison Kramer (CRW), Nakiah Kimble (DS), Elizabeth Reuter (DS), Logan Lynch

### Strait named top player in MVC & Metro

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 22 February 2012 12:58 - Last Updated Friday, 24 February 2012 18:04

(DW), Olivia Smith (DW), Haley Lorenzen (ICH), Kiera Washpun (ICH), Shanice Cheatham (LM), Courtney Major (LM), Ashley Hill (WW), Makayla Stokes (WW).

ALL-ACADEMIC: Courtney Strait (CRK), Grace Reinhart (CRK), Kelli Klaus (CRW), Lauren Goodlove (CRW), Elizabeth Reuter (DS), Natalie Jacobsmeier (DS), Tessa Leytem (DW), Beth Walker (DW), Katherine Van der Woude (ICH), Harper Beasley (ICH), Shanice Cheatham (LM), Kelsey Duggan (LM), Zinka Duric (WW), Ashley Hill (WW).

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Courtney Strait (CRK). COACH OF THE YEAR: Kris Spiegler (DW).

# **VALLEY DIVISION**

FIRST TEAM: Katlyn Andersen\* (CRX), Kaz Brown\* (CF), Madison Dellamuth (CRP), Ally Disterhoft\* (ICW), Brittani Graves (DH), Maddie Koolbeck (CRJ), Mckenzie Piper (ICW).

SECOND TEAM: Rachel Broghammer (CRJ), Tatum Klein (ICW), Courteney McCrary (CRP), Jessica Shull (ICW), Shelly Stumpff (ICW), Emily Walvoord (CRX), Allie Wirth (CF).

HONORABLE MENTION: Krystal Graves (CF), Emily Neff (CF), Madison Blietz (CRJ), Kaitlyn Davidson (CRJ), Alisa Weiland (CRP), Cyerra Hutchins (CRP), Alex Bartz (CRX), Kayla Armstrong (CRX), Haley Van Cleave (DH), Megan Doty (DH), Brianna Sturtz (ICW), Shahana Williams (ICW), Dakia Frazier (WE), Shakari Baker-Bruce (WE).

ALL-ACADEMIC: Kaitlyn Hennings (CF), Krystal Graves (CF), Maddie Koolbeck (CRJ), Dani Stromert (CRJ), Marisa Adams (CRP), Brianna Bennett (CRP), Emily Walvoord (CRX), Katlyn Andersen (CRX), Stephanie Cox (DH), Sephanie Tauke (DH), Kelley Fliehler (ICW), Mckenzie Piper (ICW), Dakia Frazier (WE), Shakari Baker-Bruce (WE).

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Ally Disterhoft (ICW). COACH OF THE YEAR: Dan List (CF).

**ALL-METRO** 

### Strait named top player in MVC & Metro

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 22 February 2012 12:58 - Last Updated Friday, 24 February 2012 18:04

FIRST TEAM: Courtney Strait\* (CRK), Madison Dellamuth\* (CRP), Maddie Koolbeck\* (CRJ), Danielle Franklin\* (CRW), Emily Walvoord (CRX), Mykaela Brandt (LM), Dani Peyton (MAR).

SECOND TEAM: Courteney McCrary (CRP), Rachel Broghammer (CRJ), Katlyn Andersen (CRX), Jazz Royster (CRW), Courtney Major (LM), Paige Hendrickson (CRK), Stephanie Botkin (CRK).

HONORABLE MENTION: Kaitlyn Davidson (CRJ), Dani Stromert (CRJ), Madison Meier (CRK), Kaylese Johnson (CRK), Shanice Cheatham (LM), Sara Strauel (LM), Michalyn Mohr (MAR), Beth Knapp (MAR), Alisa Weiland (CRP), Cyerra Hutchins (CRP), Abby Herb (CRW), Tasha Roundtree (CRW), Alex Bartz (CRX), Kayla Armstrong (CRX).

\* Unanimous