Trcka named top bowler in Metro & MVC

Cedar Rapids Xavier junior Tara Trcka collected a couple of big honors Friday.

Trcka was named the Athlete of the Year for girls bowling in the Mississippi Valley Conference (Valley Division) and in the Metro area in voting by coaches.

Trcka was the defending Class 1A state champion, but finished eighth in Thursday's state meet at Des Moines. She had a 217-pin average during the season.

Nicole Petersen of Jefferson, Stacey Schwarzenstein and McKenzie Routhe of Linn-Mar, and Keely Pernicka of Washington joined Trcka as first-team selections on the all-MVC and all-Metro teams.

Jami Kadolph of Prairie was first team on the all-MVC team. Amanda Wiedemeier of Kennedy was first team all-Metro.

Russ Camacho, who guided Xavier back to the Class 1A state tournament, was MVC Valley Division Coach of the Year. Virg Cerveny, whose Jefferson team qualified for the 2A tournament, was the all-Metro Coach of the Year.

ALL-MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM: Kristina Hochrein* (DW), Alexus Wilson* (WW), Stacey Schwarzenstein* (LM),

Trcka named top bowler in Metro & MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 24 February 2012 17:44 - Last Updated Friday, 24 February 2012 19:43

Jordan Newman (WW), McKenzie Routhe (LM), Keely Pernicka (CRW).

SECOND TEAM: Makenzie Ruddy (WW), Canndace Newman (WW), Amber Ovel (WW), Amanda Wiedemeier (CRK), Shannon Koppes (ICH), Hillary Kapparos (DS).

HONORABLE MENTION: Mckenzie Dickerman (CRK), Ashley Hoppe (CRK), Ashley Duffy (CRW), Courtney Snodgrass (CRW), Amanda Lanser (DS), Jesssica McGrath (DS), Elizabeth Wareham (DW), Jesse Bahl (DW), Natalie Harapat (ICH), Emma Gingerich (ICH), Abbey Stenersen (LM), Brooke McMorran (LM), Jennifer Reynoza (WW), Mackenzie Allison (WW).

ALL-ACADEMIC: Amanda Gaffey (CRK), Mckenzie Dickerman (CRK), Cassie Ward (CRW), Nina Thompson (CRW), Courtney Chaffee (DS), Brittany Russo (DS), Alex Bahl (DW), Katelyn Weimerskirch (DW), Shannon Koppes (ICH), McKenzie Routhe (LM), Abbey Stenersen (LM), Jessica Cook (WW), Candace Newman (WW).

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Kristina Hochrein (DW)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Rob Kunkle (WW)

VALLEY DIVISION

FIRST TEAM: Tara Trcka* (CRX), Nicole Petersen* (CRJ), Jami Kadolph* (CRP), Katie Gruber* (DH), Trisa Edler (WE), Christine Holman (CF).

SECOND TEAM: Lisa Olberding (CRX), Abbey Konzen (CRX), Courtney Moore (CRJ), Rylea Bennett (CRJ), Kate Palmer (CRP), Liz Gonner (DH).

HONORABLE MENTION: Meghan Runyan (CF), Tanner Rhoads (CF), Laura Hemphill (CRJ), Jesse Alff (CRJ), Hailey Tollefson (CRP), Niona Bruce (CRP), Tyler Weger (CRX), Erica Fry (CRX), Bev Ambrosy (DH), Courtney Ryder (DH), Maria Shimon (ICW), Stacy Bowen (ICW), Olivia Ferrie (WE), Elizabeth Burge (WE).

ALL-ACADEMIC: Katie McDaniel (CF), Kaitlin Izer (CF), Marisa Fehlhafer (CRJ), Sarah Tortora (CRJ), Jami Kadolph (CRP), Tyler Weger (CRX), Erica Fry (CRX), Bev Ambrosy (DH), Liz Connolly (ICW), Tessa Walz (ICW), Elizabeth Burge (WE).

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Tara Trcka (CRX)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Russ Camacho (CRX)

ALL-METRO

FIRST TEAM: Tara Trcka^{*} (CRX), Nicole Petersen^{*} (CRJ), Amanda Wiedemeier (CRK), McKenzie Routhe (LM), Stacey Schwarzenstein (LM), Keely Pernicka (CRW).

SECOND TEAM: Abbey Konzen (CRX), Courtney Moore (CRJ), Ashley Hoppe (CRK), Jami

Trcka named top bowler in Metro & MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 24 February 2012 17:44 - Last Updated Friday, 24 February 2012 19:43

Kadolph (CRP), Kate Palmer (CRP), Courtney Snodgrass (CRW).

HONORABLE MENTION: Abbey Stenersen (LM), Brooke McMorran (LM), Rylea Bennett (CRJ), Jesse Alff (CRJ), Mckenzie Dickerman (CRK), Jessi Schottmer (CRK), Kelly Waters (CRW), Cassie Ward (CRW), Niona Bruce (CRP), Hailey Tollefson (CRP), Eric Fry (CRX), Lisa Olberding (CRX), Taylor Lamm (Marion), Blayke Brice (Marion).

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Tara Trcka (CRX)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Virg Cerveny (CRJ)

* -- Unanimous selection