Paige is MVC Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 29 February 2012 18:14 -

Linn-Mar senior Marcus Paige has been chosen Mississippi Division Athlete of the Year by Mississippi Valley Conference boys basketball coaches.

Paige, who will play his college ball at North Carolina, leads the state in scoring with a 28.4 average.

Paige and Dubuque Wahlert's Jake May were unanimous picks on the Mississippi Division team. Cody Bell of Kennedy also was a first team pick.

Taylor Olson of Jefferson and Matt MacDougall of Prairie were unanimous first team selections on the Valley team. Iowa City West, which takes an undefeated record into next week's state tournament, had three first team choices: Dondre Alexander, Jeremy Morgan and Wyatt Lohaus.

Harrington, who has signed to run track at Alabama, was the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division.

Linn-Mar's Chris Robertson was Coach of the Year in the Mississippi Division. Iowa City West's Steve Bergman was tabbed in the Valley Division.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS (* -- Unanimous selections)

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM: *Marcus Paige (LM), *Jake May (DW), Cody Bell (CRK), Josh Weeber (DS), Riley McCarron (DW), Jerel Moore (ICH), Dale Jones (WW)

SECOND TEAM: Trevor Heitland (CRK), Josiah Coleman (CRK), Connor Grant (DS), Kyle Haber (DS), Nate Burks (DW), Jimmy Roth (LM), Andy Henry (LM)

Paige is MVC Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 29 February 2012 18:14 -

HONORABLE MENTION: Elliott Christians (CRK), Darius Fuller (CRK), Sean Bredl (CRW), David Tann (CRW), Domen Zevnik (DS), Seth Bonifas (DS), Brady Williams (DW), Ronald Thompson (ICH), Cortez Barfield (ICH), Derik Gogg (LM), Matt Meier (LM), DaQuan Moore (WW), DiMarco Mallett (WW)

ALL-ACADEMIC: Cody Bell (CRK), Josh Jahlas (CRK), Sean Bredl (CRW), Zach Williams (CRW), Connor Grant (DS), Jon Powers (DS), Sam Koenig (DW), Riley McCarron (DW), Mohamed Rouabhi (ICH), Andrew Hein (ICH), Marcus Paige (LM), Jacob Hutchins (LM), Tre Johnson (WW)

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Marcus Paige (LM)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Chris Robertson (LM)

VALLEY DIVISION

FIRST TEAM: *Dondre Alexander (ICW), *James Harrington (CF), *Jeremy Morgan (ICW), *Matt MacDougall (CRP), *Taylor Olson (CRJ), Wyatt Lohaus (ICW), Caleb Konieczny (CF)

SECOND TEAM: Ky Kramer (CRJ), Isaac Boettger (CF), Tony Johnson (CF), Jace Hanna (CRP), Ben McDermott (CRX), Alex Smith (DH), Jacob Gylten (ICW)

HONORABLE MENTION: Kalund Brown (CF), Kalehl Brown (CF), Tyler Hemphill (CRJ), Alec Saunders (CRJ), Jacob Aune (CRP), Tom Eilers (CRP), Mack Mattke (CRX), Kevin Hosch (CRX), Jake Weber (DH), Ben Goerdt (DH), Myzeah Batie-Gaddy (ICW), Austin Swank (ICW), Corshaundus Love (WE), Daeton Hoskins (WE)

ALL-ACADEMIC: Jackson Nichols (CF), Grant Grainger (CF), Austin Goodell (CRJ), Taylor Mueller (CRJ), Matt MacDougall (CRP), Brooks Kehoe (CRP), Kevin Hosch (CRX), Mack Mattke (CRX), Alex Smith (DH), Shawn Breitbach (DH), Jacob Gylten (ICW), Jason Stewart (ICW)

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: James Harrington (CF)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Steve Bergman (ICW)