## Hammond earns MVC top athlete honor in tennis

Cedar Rapids Washington senior Katie Hammond has been named female tennis Athlete of the Year in the MVC Mississippi Division.

The unbeaten Hammond, who also plays on the Warriors' girls soccer team, is undefeated in tennis and ranked No. 2 in the state.

Hammond and Linn-Mar senior Katie Rakers were named unanimous selections on the Mississippi team. They were joined on the first team by Kennedy junior Sara Lasecki, Washington junior Kristin King, Linn-Mar senior Jenna Myers and Iowa City high freshman Eve Small.

Washington's Dan Reyner was named the Mississippi Division Coach of the Year.

Xavier senior Laura Birky was the only Metro representative on the Valley Division first team.

Hempstead's Katie Meyer is the Valley Division Athlete of the Year and Cedar Falls' Mike Knox is the Coach of the Year.

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE GIRLS TENNIS \* - Unanimous selections

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team \*Katie Rakers (LM), sr. \*Katie Hammond (CRW), sr. Sara Lasecki (CRK), jr. Eve Small (ICH), fr. Kristin King (CRW), jr. Jenna Myers (LM), sr.

Second Team

## Hammond earns MVC top athlete honor in tennis

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 May 2012 19:28 - Last Updated Monday, 04 June 2012 00:41

Olivia Brooks (CRW), sr.; Ashton Stoppelmoor (DS), jr.; Kathleen Hutchinson (DW) so.; Courtney Schneider (DW) sr.; Lilly Hartman (CRW), fr.; Lindsay Minder (CRK) sr.

Honorable Mention Kennedy -- Alexa Mitchell, Katherine Thompson Washington -- Alana Sabin; Rina Moore Dubuque Senior -- Virginia Meurer, Maie Khalil Dubuque Wahlert -- Caroline Ott, Emily Sullivan Iowa City High -- Lindsay Hall, Elizabeth Schieffer Linn-Mar -- Ashley Smith, Gabi Botsford Waterloo West -- Elma Beganovic, Aubrey Grant

Athlete of the Year -- Katie Hammond (CRW)

Coach of the Year -- Dan Reyner (CRW)

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team Laura Birky (CRX), sr. Katie Todd (CF), sr. \*Katie Meyer (DH), jr. \*Addy Riley (ICW), jr. Olivia Lofgren (ICW), sr. Abby Ahlrichs (DH), jr. Elena Wilson (ICW), jr.

Second Team Allison Jasper (CRX), fr.; Crystal Terman (CRJ), sr.; Halle Bensen (CF), jr.; Brittani Langland (ICW), fr.; Kelli Walsh (CRJ), sr.; Sophie Mallaro (CF), so.

Honorable Mention Cedar Falls -- Hannah Mallaro, Maya Amjadi Jefferson -- Lydia French, Deserae Richter Prairie -- Maddie Rainey, Bri Kalous Xavier -- Meggie Gates, Devin Hayes Hempstead -- Nina Streauslin, Carie Crabill Iowa City West -- Megan Jans, Jenny Clark Waterloo East -- Brenna Goodrich, Cheyanne Custer

Athlete of the Year -- Katie Meyer (DH)

Coach of the Year -- Mike Knox (CF)

All-Academic Kennedy -- Rachel Gilman, Lexie Scharmer

## Hammond earns MVC top athlete honor in tennis

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 May 2012 19:28 - Last Updated Monday, 04 June 2012 00:41

Washington -- Alana Sabin, Shea Sabin Linn-Mar -- Katie Rakers, Jenna Myers Jefferson -- Crystal Terman, Kelli Walsh Prairie -- Emily Wetherell, Alicia Ekman Xavier -- Meggie Gates, Laura Birky