## Galbraith garners top MVC tennis honor

Cedar Rapids Kennedy senior Riley Galbraith has been named male Athlete of the Year in the MVC Mississippi Division.

Galbraith, who also plays on the Cougars' soccer team, finished fourth in the state in singles last year and is considered one of the top contenders for this year's title.

All six members of the Mississippi Division first team were unanimous selections. Five are from the Metro. Joining Galbraith are Linn-Mar sophomore Brady Anderson and senior Tyler McCann, Washington junior Mitch Blades and senior Mitch Anderson, and Dubuque Wahlert junior Brandon Schneider. Brady Anderson and Mitch Anderson are brothers.

Linn-Mar's Chis Wundram was named Mississippi Division Coach of the Year after guiding the Lions to their fourth straight division title.

There were no Metro players on the Valley Division first team, which featured three players from lowa City West. Blake Oetting, an Iowa City West sophomore, was named Athlete of the Year and the Trojans' Mitch Gross was named Coach of the Year.

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE GIRLS TENNIS \* - Unanimous selections

**MISSISSIPPI DIVISION** 

First Team \*Brady Anderson (LM), so. \*Tyler McCann (LM), sr. \*Mitch Blades (CRW), jr. \*Mitch Anderson (CRW), sr. \*Riley Galbraith (CRK), sr. \*Brandon Schneider (DW), jr.

Second Team Trevor McCann (LM), fr.; Dillon Einck (LM) sr.; Clayton Hoyt (CRW), sr.; Tom Runde (DW), jr.; Wes Steffen (ICH), sr.; Gabe Mozena (DS), jr.

## Galbraith garners top MVC tennis honor

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 May 2012 20:02 - Last Updated Monday, 04 June 2012 00:41

Honorable Mention Kennedy -- Arjun Venkatesh, Mitch Martin Washington -- Ian Schweiger; Reid Rossberger Dubuque Senior -- Travis Busch, Noah Mozena Dubuque Wahlert -- Garrett Hinz, James Ottavi Iowa City High -- Sean Mullan, Erik McCoy Linn-Mar -- John Kuster, Blake Young Waterloo West -- Jacob Meyer, Armin Muhamedagic

Athlete of the Year -- Riley Galbraith (CRK)

Coach of the Year -- Chris Wundram (LM)

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team \*Blake Oetting (ICW), so. \*Kyle Appel (ICW), jr. \*Nick Johnson (DH), sr. \*Roy Ju (CF), jr. Adam Boldt (ICW), jr. Rex Ju (CF), jr.

Second Team Adam Dellos (ICW), so.; Karl Wenzel (ICW), so.; David DiLeo (ICW), fr.; Noah Schmall (CRX), sr.; Jeff Teng (DH), so.; Jacob Donald (CRJ), so.

Honorable Mention Cedar Falls -- Brennan Ashwood, Greg Power Jefferson -- Colten Jourdan, Caleb Pfeil Prairie -- Kevin LeCaptain, Derek Wheatley Xavier -- Kyle D'Mello, Grant Hunt Hempstead -- JT Bortscheller, Nathan Langfield Iowa City West -- Trent Schneider, Ben Dellos Waterloo East -- Ryan Gilbert, Alex Pietan

Athlete of the Year -- Blake Oetting (ICW)

Coach of the Year -- Mitch Gross (ICW)

All-Academic

Kennedy -- Eric Hansen, Mitch Martin Washington -- Mitch Anderson, Dylan Shah Linn-Mar -- Tim Bancks, Adam Abbott Jefferson -- Jason Wong, Adam Houk Prairie -- Kevin LeCaptain, Derek Wheatley

## Galbraith garners top MVC tennis honor

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 May 2012 20:02 - Last Updated Monday, 04 June 2012 00:41

Xavier -- Noah Schmall, Grant Hunt