Alex Hayden of Cedar Rapids Kennedy has been named the Mississippi Division Athlete of the Year on the 2012 Mississippi Valley Conference honor squad in baseball.

Hayden was joined on the Mississippi Division first team by batterymate Jimmy Lizarraga and outfielder Josh Jahlas.

Linn-Mar had three first team picks: pitcher Jake Stolley, outfielder Michael Redmond and pitcher/outfielder Nate Greve, who was selected to a utility position.

Pitcher Brennan Hammer, first baseman Tyler Votroubek, infielder Brayton Carlson and outfielder Jason Velvick from Prairie were first team picks in the Valley Division.

Jefferson outfielder Chance Tiedtke and Xavier catcher/first baseman/pitcher Mack Mattke also were first team picks in the Valley.

Hayden, Jahlas, Hammer, Votroubek and Tiedtke all were unanimous selections. The teams were selected by conference coaches.

Adam Lloyd, Cody Bell and Logan Ambrosy from Kennedy, and Austin Stroschein and Mitch Stickney from Linn-Mar were second-team selections on the Mississippi Division team.

Jordan Dee, Dylan Jellison and Christian Knox from Jefferson, Adam Pick and Zach Brown from Xavier, and Ty Mougin from Prairie were second team in the Valley Division.

Washington had no selections on either the first or second teams.

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 July 2012 20:07 - Last Updated Monday, 23 July 2012 20:29

Linn-Mar Coach Chad Lechner and his assistants were named Staff of the Year in the Mississippi Division.

Reid Bonner of Iowa City West was named Valley Division Athlete of the Year. Iowa City West Coach Charlie Stumpff and his assistants were named Staff of the Year in the Valley Division.

Kennedy and Linn-Mar face each other in the first round of the state tournament on Wednesday at 6 p.m. Iowa City West plays West Des Moines Valley at noon.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE BASEBALL TEAMS (* - Unanimous selections)

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Alex Hayden (CRK)

Coach of the Year - Chad Lechner and staff (LM)

First Team P - *Alex Hayden (CRK) P - Jake Stolley (LM) C - Jimmy Lizarraga (CRK) 1B - Josh Crosby (ICH) IF - Sam Mrstik (ICH) IF - Sam Mrstik (ICH) IF - Derek Vaughn (WW) OF - *Josh Jahlas (CRK) OF - Michael Redmond (LM) OF - Ryan Duncan (ICH) UTIL - Nate Greve (LM) UTIL - Zach Fricke (WW)

Second Team P - Adam Lloyd (CRK) P - Alex Steines (DS)

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 July 2012 20:07 - Last Updated Monday, 23 July 2012 20:29

C - Tyler Stika (ICH) 1B - Cody Bell (CRK) IF - Levi Nauman (DW) IF - Austin Stroschein (LM) IF - Jack Frakes (ICH) OF - Logan Ambrosy (CRK) OF - Sam Kullen (WW) OF - Mitch Stickney (LM) UTIL - Mitch Wieland (ICH) UTIL - Anthony Ruden (DW)

Honorable Mention CRK - Nick Appleget, Devon Jacobus CRW - Noah Dostal. Noah Burdt LM - Justin Wyant, Keaton Blackford

All-Academic CRK - Cody Bell, Josh Jahlas CRW - Robert Hogg, Grant Dostal LM - Jake Stolley, Michael Redmond

VALLEY DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Reid Bonner (ICW)

Coach of the Year - Charlie Stumpff and staff (ICW)

First Team P - *Brennan Hammer (CRP) P - *Nick Grimsman (ICW) C - J.T. Sole (CF) 1B - *Tyler Votroubek (CRP) IF - Shawn Hagarty (CF) IF - Brayton Carlson (CRP) IF - Reid Bonner (ICW) OF - *Chance Tiedtke (CRJ) OF - Jason Velvick (CRP) OF - Jesse Billings (WE) UTIL - Mack Mattke (CRX) UTIL - Luke Crimmins (ICW) Second Team P - Jordan Dee (CRJ) P - Chris Tomkiins (CF) C - Nathan Sahr (WE)

1B - Adam Pick (CRX)

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 July 2012 20:07 - Last Updated Monday, 23 July 2012 20:29

IF - Nick Stevenson (DH) IF - Dylan Jellison (CRJ) IF - Ty Mougin (CRP) OF - Ryan Siems (ICW) OF - Clint Fletcher (CF) OF - Christian Knox (CRJ) UTIL - Zach Brown (CRX) UTIL - Tyus Adkins (ICW)

Honorable Mention CRJ - Sam Tchau, Colten Jourdan CRP - Tyler Butz, Bryce Alberts CRX - Bryce Grimm, Mitch St. Andrews

All-Academic

CRJ - Austin Goodell, Jordan Dee

CRP - Bryce Alberts, Connor Steffens

CRX - Mack Mattke, Tyler Hines