Cougars, Saints claim MVC golf awards

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 26 September 2012 18:20 -

Conner Koberg of Kennedy and Ben Sagers of Xavier have been named the Mississippi Valley Conference Athletes of the Year for boys golf.

Mark Wilden of Kennedy and Tim O'Brien of Xavier have been named the MVC Coach of the Year in their respective division as well.

Koberg won the Mississippi Division title and Sagers claimed the Valley Division crown on Monday. In addition, their teams ran away with the division championships.

The conference has announced all its honor squads for boys golf:

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team: Conner Koberg (CRK), Zach Denny (CRJ), Cole Murdock (CRK), Davis Sutton (CRK), Seth Nutt (CRK), Noah Federici (ICW).

Second Team: Nate Goddard (ICH), Mitch Willems (CRJ), Andrew Hein (ICH), Ross Grekoff (CRK), JD Goodfellow (ICW), Jake Van Oort (CRJ), Shaun Morris (DH).

Honorable Mention: Drew Haas (ICW), Dominic Muzzin (ICW), Tyler Whitehead (ICW), Ben Otis (CRJ), Andrew Kehl (DS), Clay Wilkinson (WE).

All-Academic (Metro only): Kyler Schoner (CRJ), Chase Wedemeier (CRJ), Landon Crippes (CRK), Richard Sutton (CRK).

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team: Ben Sagers (CRX), Matt Junge (CRX), Greg Lange (DW), Robbie Thinnes (CRX), Charlie Smith (DW), Trevor McCann (LM).

Second Team: Jason Gingrich (LM), Jordan Even (CRX), John Drahozal (CRX), Alec Braun (CF), John Ingwersen (CRX), Matt Edl (CRP), Matt Strand (CRW).

Honorable Mention: Will Shirey (WW), Dominic Rodriguez (CRW), Christian Rapp (DW), Collin Tremkamp (WW), Kile Bean (LM), Jared Deines (CF).

All-Academic (Metro only): Drew Digman (CRP), Matt Edl (CRP), Reid Rossberger (CRW), Grant Kamin (CRW), Robbie Thinnes (CRX), Gage Bauserman (CRX), Drew McGovern (LM),

Cougars, Saints claim MVC golf awards

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 26 September 2012 18:20 -

Kile Bean (LM).