Cedar Rapids Prairie quarterback Jace Hanna has been named the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division of the Mississippi Valley Conference for the 2012 campaign.

One of the people he topped for the award is Xavier quarterback Reggie Schulte, and they'll meet Friday night in the quarterfinals of the Class 4A playoffs at Xavier.

Xavier claimed six spots on the Valley Division's top unit with Schulte, Corbin Woods, Seth Fahnle, Emeliano Martinez, Craig Murtha and Ryan Persick.

Prairie had four first-team selections in the Valley Division with Hanna, Jarred Edmonds, Cam Rathje and Mitch Dellamuth.

The Linn-Mar Lions earned three spots on the Valley's top all-star squad with Justin Green, Nick Trabucco and Zach Martins. Washington had two berths with Jason Oney and Zac Gillis.

Kennedy garnered four first-team picks on the Mississippi Division team with Austin Holzer, Drew Heitland, Alex Hillyer and Grant Miller.

Jefferson had two spots with Peter Watson and Drake Allen.

Xavier Coach Duane Schulte and his assistants were named the Coach of the Year in the Valley Division.

## VALLEY DIVISION

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE Xavier - Seth Fahnle, Reggie Schulte, Corbin Woods Prairie - Jace Hanna, Jarred Edmonds Washington - Jason Oney, Zac Gillis Linn-Mar - Justin Green Cedar Falls - Ross Pierschbacher, Ike Boettger Waterloo West - Makayle Phillips, Lance Dunn

## FIRST TEAM DEFENSE

Xavier - Emeliano Martinez, Craig Murtha Prairie - Cam Rathje, Mitch Dellamuth Linn-Mar - Nick Trabucco, Zach Martins Cedar Falls - Jared Farley, Nick deBuhr Waterloo West - Jacob Showalter Wahlert - Alec Dietzel

Athlete of the Year - Jace Hanna, Prairie Coach of the Year - Duane Schulte & Xavier Staff Punter - Skyler Capelle, Waterloo West Placekicker - Ryan Persick, Xavier

## SECOND TEAM OFFENSE

Xavier - Paul Cavin Cedar Falls - Hayden Shea, Coltin Wellmann Prairie - Jesse Hynek Linn-Mar - Ross Lembeck Waterloo West - Dequayvious Martin, Alex Young Washington - Mitch Blades

## SECOND TEAM DEFENSE

Xavier - Matt Nelson, Trey Sampson, Miles Sullivan Cedar Falls - Nick Clark, Brayden Longnecker Prairie - Casey Becker, Jesse Vizzini Waterloo West - Blake Thomas Linn-Mar - Dakota Digmann, Luke Meyer Washington - Jake Bjornsen Wahlert - Levi Nauman, Alex Perry

## HONORABLE MENTION

Metro Area Only Xavier - Tristen Scallon, Ben Helms, Cole Turner, Bryce Grimm, Sean Ickes Prairie - Andrew Netolicky, Demetrius Harper, Bryce Meeker, Tristan Beyer, Matt Jones Linn-Mar - Brandon Jeffries, Andrew Holladay, Tyler Kane, Austin Burbridge, Justin Putz Washington - Will Rings, Connor Vincent, Noah Dostal, Reid Snitker, Mitch Bredeson

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 31 October 2012 16:36 - Last Updated Sunday, 20 January 2013 23:53

### MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE Iowa City West - Sam McLeran, Ezra Reiners, Nate Boland, Dondre Alexander, Jeremy Morgan Dubuque Senior - Zach Soer, Keegan Gallery Kennedy - Austin Holzer, Drew Heitland, Alex Hillyer Waterloo East - Desmond VanArsdale Iowa City High - Tanner Odle Dubuque Hempstead - Matt Zenner

#### FIRST TEAM DEFENSE

Dubuque Senior - Streat Hoerner, Brook Anderson Kennedy - Grant Miller Waterloo East - Kelvin Clark, Russell Jones Jefferson - Peter Watson, Drake Allen Iowa City High - Jake Leohr, De'Airius Salibi

Athlete of the Year - Ezra Reiners, Iowa City West Coach of the Year - Brian Sauser & Iowa City West Staff Punter - Jake Leohr, Iowa City High Placekicker - Juan Martinez, Waterloo East

#### SECOND TEAM OFFENSE

Iowa City West - Colin Foerstner, Grant Troyer Dubuque Senior - Alex Duster, Austin Clemens Kennedy - Jacob Frazier-Flores Waterloo East - Aaron Taylor, Javon Middleton Jefferson - Dalton Kuehl, Layne Sullivan Dubuque Hempstead - Joe Weiner, Drew Wagner

## SECOND TEAM DEFENSE

Iowa City West - Colin Baker, Reid Bonner Dubuque Senior - Zach Meyer, Mitch McElmeel Kennedy - Nick Dunne, Riley Fergus, Donovan Kosman Waterloo East - Jordan Johnson Iowa City High - Amos Lavela, Xavier Washpun

## HONORABLE MENTION

Metro Area Only Kennedy - Andrew Johnson, Chuck Baxter, Tommy Kaiser, David Hynek, Triston Christopher Jefferson - Hunter Kloubec, Anton Robertson, Jason McClenahan, Raven Johnson, Blake Bernauer

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Area Only Kennedy - Tanner Boyle, Chris Blum

Jefferson - Hunter Kloubec, Jason McClenahan