Torson named Athlete of the Year in MVC

Xavier sophomore Kayla Torson has been named the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division of the Mississippi Valley Conference.

Xavier and Washington claimed two spots on the Valley Division's top unit. Torson was joined by teammate Sarah Homan.

Washington's first teamers are Hanna Reese and Dani Franklin.

Linn-Mar's Megan Allmandinger also was named to the Valley Division first team.

Kennedy had two selections on the Mississippi Division first unit with Jordan Calef and Alexus Rogers.

Torson and Calef were unanimous selections.

Barb Sullivan of Xavier was named the Valley Division Coach of the Year.

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE VOLLEYBALL TEAMS (* - Unanimous selection)

VALLEY DIVISION

FIRST TEAM Xavier - Kayla Torson*, Sarah Homan Washington - Hanna Reese, Dani Franklin Linn-Mar - Megan Allmandinger

Torson named Athlete of the Year in MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 01 November 2012 20:14 - Last Updated Sunday, 20 January 2013 23:52

Cedar Falls - Kaz Brown*, Miranda Dusenberry Wahlert - Alyssa Klostermann

Athlete of the Year - Kayla Torson, Xavier Coach of the Year - Barb Sullivan, Xavier

SECOND TEAM

Xavier - Melissa Everett, Halle Heying Washington - Aleena Hobbs, Shanay Gonder Prairie - Becca Bell Linn-Mar - Kiley Coppock Wahlert - Molly Tranel Waterloo West - Callie Cooley

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Schools Only Prairie - Halle Lueck, Kate Busswitz Washington - Alisa Gerhold, Kirsten Peterson Linn-Mar - Sami Boekhoff, Sarah Renner Xavier - Kasey VandenBosch, Audrey Richards

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Schools Only Prairie - Brittney Lash, Sara Stevenson Washington - Hanna Reese, Hannah Hatfield Linn-Mar - Megan Allmandinger, Claire Tupper Xavier - Shelby Christensen, Sarah Homan

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM Kennedy - Jordaan Calef*, Alexus Rogers Iowa City High - Michaela Nelson*, Abby Saehler Hempstead - Audrey Reeg*, Heather Splinter Iowa City West - Mollie Mason* Dubuque Senior - Angela Wagner*

Athlete of the Year - Audrey Reeg, Hempstead Coach of the Year - Randy Dolson, Hempstead

SECOND TEAM Jefferson - Amanda Ollinger Kennedy - Erin Coker Iowa City High - Mickey Hansche, Liz Hubing Hempstead - Haley Van Cleave, Devan Stieber Iowa City West - Laynie Whitehead

Torson named Athlete of the Year in MVC

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 01 November 2012 20:14 - Last Updated Sunday, 20 January 2013 23:52

Dubuque Senior - Allie Osterberger

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Schools Only Jefferson - Kayla Jaschen, Kieley Brathwaite Kennedy - Madi Meier, Bre Boote

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Schools Only Jefferson - Karlee Long, Breanne Parke Kennedy - Taylor Steffans, Callie Sauer