Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 00:33

Linn-Mar quarterback Ryan Schmidt has been named the Offensive Player of the Year for Class 4A District 5, as selected by the district coaches.

Linn-Mar Coach Bob Forsyth and his assistants were named the Staff of the Year. Rayce Willett of Cedar Falls was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Seven Linn-Mar Lions were named first team all-district. Schmidt, Perrion Scott and Trevor Noble were honored on offense. Logan Nelsen, Trevor Long, Andrew Gassmann and Zach Huffman were saluted on defense.

The Jefferson J-Hawks and Kennedy Cougars had four first-team picks.

Jesse Furrow and Dalton Kuehl of Jefferson were named to the first team on offense. Alex Fernandez and Dakota Tomkins of Jefferson were honored on defense Shaun Beyer and Tyler Dralle of Kennedy made the first team on offense. Jay Blank and Parker Steffen from the Cougars were honored on defense.

Second Team Offense

Metro Only

Cameron McInerney (CRJ), Mason Furnish (CRJ), Lotukalafi Ahomana (LM), Daniel Gorsich (LM), Tylor Newhouse (LM), Mason Jacobs (CRK), Sammy Lizarraga (CRK).

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 00:33

Second Team Defense

Metro Only

Kelly May (CRJ), Tavian Rashed (CRJ), Garett Evans (LM), Logan Benter (LM), Dalles Jacobus (CRK), Logan Wedo (CRK).

Honorable Mention

Metro Only

Jefferson - Bryce Lund, Ben Baxter, Luke Sedlacek, Mason Short

Linn-Mar - Austin McCulloh, Dallas McFarland, Ryan Holub, Zach Garnett

Kennedy - Drake Brewster, Terrance Hall, Jacob Hauschild, Jonah Moes

## Schmidt honored in District 5

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 00:33

All-Academic

Metro Only

Jefferson - Mason Furnish, Cameron Frazier

Kennedy - Jacob Grovert, Kyle Brewer

Linn-Mar - Michael Ho, Tylor Newhouse