## Paulsen named Metro Coach of Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 12:47

Roxanne Paulsen of Marion High School has been named the Metro Coach of the Year in girls volleyball, as selected by the Metro coaches.

Marion earned a spot in the Class 4A state tournament with a 3-0 victory over DeWitt Central in the regional finals Tuesday night. This will be Paulsen's fifth trip to the state tournament with the Indians and the first since 2009. Marion won a state title in 2008.

Abby Phillips and Amanda Sahm of Marion were named to the top all-Metro squad with their coach. They were joined by Kayla Torson of Xavier, Amanda Ollinger of Jefferson, Kate Busswitz of Prairie, Sarah Renner of Linn-Mar, Anna Fluent of Kennedy and Macy Anderson of Kennedy.

## **SECOND TEAM**

Alyssa Thomas (Marion), Olivia Frazier (Marion), Ellie Anderson (Linn-Mar), Sami Boekhoff (Linn-Mar), Caiti Peterson (Washington), Mallory Jones (Prairie), Madsy Richards (Xavier), Brinley Milbrath (Kennedy).

## **HONORABLE MENTION**

Jefferson - Maddie Slagle, Kristen Naber Kennedy - Paige Franck, Kendal Meier Prairie - Jennifer Lockhart, Megan Sprengeler Washington - Sophie Smith, Rumer Weiland Xavier - Mel Wertzberger, Olivia Krapfl Linn-Mar - Emilee McGowan, Meg Gostonczik Marion - Isabella Sade, Johanna Steggall

## Paulsen named Metro Coach of Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 12:47