## Hansen tops all-Metro softball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 16 July 2015 19:02

Cedar Rapids Jefferson catcher Maddie Hansen has been named the Athlete of the Year on the All-Metro Softball Team, as selected by Metro coaches.

Hansen, a senior, is hitting .504 with 11 home runs and 46 RBIs to rank among the state leaders in all three departments. She plans to play next season at Kirkwood Community College.

Hansen has helped the third-ranked J-Hawks reach the Class 5A state tournament with a 35-7 record. Jefferson will face Linn-Mar in the opening round at 3:30 p.m. Monday in Fort Dodge.

Jefferson pitcher Alyssa Olson and outfielder Hannah Towns joined Hansen on the All-Metro first team.

Natalie Halvorson and Gabi Carter of Prairie, Tianna Drahn and Ashley Hamilton of Kennedy, Erin Drahozal and Morgan Breitbach of Xavier, Elison Ollinger and Maddy Ryan of Linn-Mar and Jessi Puk of Washington also made the first unit.

Brian Erbe and his assistant coaches at Jefferson were named the Staff of the Year.

## SECOND TEAM

Alissa Good (Jefferson), Avery Guy (Jefferson), Erin Kuba (Jefferson), Kennedy Dighton (Jefferson), Amanda Pipolo (Prairie), Shelby Frederick (Prairie), Anne Cerveny (Prairie), Charlotte Richards (Xavier), Sydney Nielsen (Marion), Maddie Knapp (Marion), Ally Johnson (Linn-Mar), Christina Lincoln (Linn-Mar), Dana Riley (Washington). Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 16 July 2015 19:02

## HONORABLE MENTION

Tori Brandon (Jefferson), Taylor Holub (Jefferson), Neila Bell (Prairie), Kristin Wahlert (Prairie), Andrea McEachran (Kennedy), Peyton Baskerville (Kennedy), Hannah Helms (Xavier), Jamie Feltes (Xavier), Haley Dullea (Marion), Alicia Steepleton (Marion), Madison Rentschler (Linn-Mar), Michaela Kennedy (Linn-Mar), Grace Stockmaster (Washington), Payton Bruner (Washington).