Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 16 February 2016 23:27

Washington junior Cameron Kelley, who won the 200 freestyle and set a state record in the 500 freestyle at Saturday's boys state swimming meet, earned the All-Metro Athlete of the Year Award in boys swimming, it was announced Tuesday.

Kelley won the 200 freestyle in 1 minute, 39.50 seconds in Marshalltown and set the state record of 4:39.96 while winning the 500 freestyle.

Coach of the Year honors were shared by Chris Cruise of Washington and Ryan York of Jefferson and their staffs.

Six other Washington swimmers earned first-team honors, including seniors Nick Saulnier, Mitchell Anderson and Matt Jackson, sophomores Kaleb Donels and George Durin and freshman Jeremy Throndson

Linn-Mar had three first-team members in senior Reid Snell, junior Hogan Myers and sophomore Matt Peng. Senior Stefan Kitsos and junior Cade Schoenauer made the first team for Kennedy and junior Paul Hummell made the first team for Jefferson.

First team

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 16 February 2016 23:27

Mitchell Anderson, sr., Washington; Kaleb Donels, so., Washington; George Durin, so., Washington; Paul Hummell, jr., Jefferson; Matt Jackson, sr., Washington; Cameron Kelley, jr., Washington; Stefan Kitsos, sr., Kennedy; Hogan Myers, jr., Linn-Mar; Matt Peng, so., Linn-Mar; Nick Saulnier, sr., Washington; Cade Schoenauer, jr., Kennedy; Reid Snell, sr., Linn-Mar; Jeremy Throndson, fr., Washington.

Second team

Ethan Ford, fr., Washington; Brady Gibson, sr., Kennedy; Reece Linder, sr., Kennedy; Matthew Mather, jr., Linn-Mar; Clark Montover, jr., Kennedy; Brycen Snell, so., Linn-Mar; Jacob Wendt, sr., Linn-Mar; Zach Vana, jr., Linn-Mar.

Honorable mention

Sean Casey, fr., Kennedy; Spencer Davis, so., Kennedy; Alec Hanson, sr., Kennedy; Nathan Hendricks, sr., Linn-Mar; Nate Homan, sr., Jefferson; Luke Hummell, sr., Jefferson; Zach Kolker, fr., Washington; Ryan Martin, sr., Jefferson; Ethan Schmidt, so., Linn-Mar; Joe Slattery, sr., Washington; Andrew Waters, jr., Kennedy.

Athlete of the Year: Cameron Kelley, Washington.

Coach of the Year: Chris Cruise and staff, Washington; Ryan York and staff, Jefferson.