Petersen named MVC's top athlete in softball

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 16 July 2012 16:12

Hannah Petersen of Cedar Rapids Jefferson has been named the Valley Division Athlete of the Year on the 2012 Mississippi Valley Conference honor squad in softball.

Maddie Hansen, Carson Burgart and Rachel Sedlacek of Jefferson joined Petersen on the Valley Division first team, giving the J-Hawks four spots on the 12-girl squad.

Sydney Galligan of Xavier and Gabi Carter of Prairie also made first team in the Valley Division.

Alexis Kelsey, Kelsey Duggan and Maggie Rizor from Linn-Mar were first-team picks on the Mississippi Division team, as selected by the league coaches.

Brooke Stauffer, Kenna Fry, Kaitlyn Davidson and Kailey Drake from Jefferson were second-team selections on the Valley Division squad.

Cheyenne Hansen, Hannah Yearling, Maddy Ryan and Kortlan Ollinger from Linn-Mar were second-team picks on the Mississippi Division team. They were joined by Amanda Gaffey of Kennedy and Bria Lenten of Washington.

Jefferson Coach Larry Niemeyer and his assistants were named the Staff of the Year in the Valley Division.

2012 MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE SOFTBALL

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team

- P * Hannan Petersen, Jefferson, Sr.
- P Mackenzie Laux, IC West, Sr.
- C * Maddie Hansen, Jefferson, Frosh
- IF * Katelyn Kinnetz, Waterloo East, Jr.
- IF Carson Burgart, Jefferson, Sr.

Petersen named MVC's top athlete in softball

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 16 July 2012 16:12

- IF Tatum Klein, IC West, Sr.
- IF Gabi Carter, Prairie, Frosh
- OF Rachel Sedlacek, Jefferson, Sr.
- OF Maggie Nichols, Waterloo East, Sr.
- OF Hailey Koerperich, Hempstead, Jr.
- U * Alyson Netty, Waterloo East, Sr.
- U Sydney Galligan, Xavier, Jr.

Second Team

- P Brooke Stauffer, Jefferson, Jr.
- P Shelly Stumpff, IC West, Sr.
- C Michaela Recker, IC West, Jr.
- IF Brianna Sturtz, IC West, Sr.
- IF Kenna Fry, Jefferson, Sr.
- IF Lauren Smith, Cedar Falls, Sr.
- IF Kaitlyn Davidson, Jefferson, Jr.
- OF Kailey Drake, Jefferson, Sr.
- OF Mikaela Morgan, IC West, Frosh
- OF Jordan Albrecht, Hempstead, Jr.
- U Kenzie Wroe, Waterloo East, Jr.
- U Lauren Larsen, IC West, Jr.

Athlete of the Year - Hannah Petersen, Jefferson Staff of the Year -- Larry Niemeyer, Jefferson and assistants

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team

- P * AJ Medinger, Dubuque Sr., Soph
- P Erin Weno, IC High, Jr.
- C Kristie Sommer, Dubuque Sr., Soph
- IF * Katie Sommer, Dubuque Sr., Soph
- IF Alexis Kelsey, Linn-Mar, Frosh
- IF Kelsey Duggan, Linn-Mar, Jr.
- IF Brie Hightshoe, IC High, Jr.
- OF * Haley Zenner, Dubuque Sr., Sr.
- OF Liz Reuter, Dubuque Sr., Sr.
- OF Lindsey Hansen, Waterloo West, Sr.
- U Maggie Rizor, Linn-Mar, Soph
- U Maddy Nilles, Wahlert, Frosh

Second Team

P - Natalie Jacobsmeier, Dubuque Sr., Jr.

Petersen named MVC's top athlete in softball

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 16 July 2012 16:12

- P Cheyenne Hansen, Linn-Mar, 8th
- C Hannah Yearling, Linn-Mar, Jr.
- IF Jaclyn Spencer, Waterloo West, 8th
- IF Maddy Ryan, Linn-Mar, Frosh
- IF Amanda Gaffey, Kennedy, Sr.
- IF Bria Lenten, Washington, Soph
- OF Kira Dailey, IC High, Sr.
- OF Kortlan Ollinger, Linn-Mar, Jr.
- OF Kourtney Medina, Waterloo West, Frosh
- U Gabby Tath, Wahlert, Frosh
- U Ashley Duthie, IC High, Soph

Athlete of the Year - AJ Medinger, Dubuque Senior Staff of the Year - Jason Loeffelholz, Dubuque Senior and assistants * Unanimous