Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 11 January 2014 19:10 -

VAN HORNE - Brenden Baker won the 106-pound title and Jefferson also had a pair of runner-up finishers to place second Saturday in the Jerry Eckenrod Invitational wrestling meet at Benton Community High School.

Jefferson's Kyle Briggs (120) and Josh Allen (182) lost in championship bouts. The J-Hawks finished 31 points behind champion Davenport Assumption.

Washington's Trey Schuler won the 132-pound title. The Warriors placed 12th in the team standings.

JERRY ECKENROD INVITATIONAL

**Team Scores** 

1. Davenport Assumption 224, 2. CR Jefferson 193, 3. Union 189, 4. West Delaware 180, 5. Independence 173, 6. Don Bosco 148.5, 7. Eddyville-Blakesburg 146, 8. Waterloo West 122, 9. Williamsburg 96, 10. Benton 93, 11. Vinton-Shellsburg 75, 12. CR Washington 51, 13. North Linn 35, 14. Maguoketa 31, 15. Centerville 13, 16. Belle Plaine 0

## Championship bouts

106 -Brenden Baker (CRJ) pinned Jordan Schmitz (Don Bosco), 3:29

- 113 Patrick Woods (West Delaware) dec. Jacob Fenske (Assumption), 6-0
- 120 Brendan Gould (Assumption) dec. Kyle Briggs (CRJ), 7-0
- 126 Cole Fox (Don Bosco) dec. Kirk Mommsen (Assumption), 2-1
- 132 Trey Schuler (CRW) pinned Connor Wickman (West Delaware), 1:05
- 138 Max Thomsen (Union) dec. Jeren Glosser (Eddyville-Blakesburg), 5-0
- 145 Chase Straw (Indee) dec. Tristen Finch (Assumption) 6-2
- 152 Danny Bush (Assumption) dec. Tucker Black (Eddyville-Blakesburg), 1-0
- 160 Jake Voss (West Delaware) major dec. Tyler Foubert (Eddyville-Blakesburg), 12-4
- 170 Brent Lammers (West Delaware) dec. Joe Argo (Assumption), 6-0
- 182 Kyle Frank (Indee) major dec. Josh Allen (CRJ), 10-1
- 195 Marcus Harrington (Waterloo West) pinned Zach Hickson (Don Bosco), 1:27
- 220 Kyler Mathews (Waterloo West) pinned Zach Adrian (Assumption), 4:00

## Schuler wins title at Benton

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 11 January 2014 19:10 -

286 - Quintin Taylor (Benton) pinned Richard Heveron (West Delaware), 3:30

Jefferson Placewinners

1st - Brenden Baker (106) 2nd - Kyle Briggs (120) 2nd - Josh Allen (182) 3rd - Patrick Rashed (126) 4th - Dalton Kuehl (220) 5th - Luke Sedlacek (160) 5th - Nick Dreckman (170) 6th - Michael Moncivais (132) 6th - Matt Culver (138) 6th - Kelly May (152) 7th - Joseph Sibomana (113) 8th - Tavian Rashed (145) 8th - Erik Hovey (195)

Washington Placewinners

1st - Trey Schuler (132) 6th - Noah Fox (195) 7th - Tyler Burkle (170)