Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 21:52 -

Xavier Coach Krista Johnson and junior Kayla Torson have received top honors on the Mississippi Valley Conference all-star volleyball team in the Valley Division, the league announced Wednesday.

Johnson has been named the Coach of the Year for leading the Saints to the Valley Division title and Torson has been named the Athlete of the Year.

Torson and Xavier teammate Halle Heying were named first team all-conference in the Valley Division. Dani Franklin and Aleena Hobbs of Washington, Kiley Coppock and Aryn Jones of Linn-Mar, and Meghan Busswitz of Prairie also received first-team honors in the Valley Division.

Madi Meier and Anna Fluent of Kennedy were named first team all-conference in the Mississippi Division. They were joined by Amanda Ollinger of Jefferson.

ALL-MVC VOLLEYBALL

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team Kayla Torson (CRX), Kaz Brown (CF), Dani Franklin (CRW), Meghan Busswitz (CRP), Kiley Coppock (LM), Aryn Jones (LM), Halle Heying (CRX), Aleena Hobbs (CRW).

Athlete of the Year - Kayla Torson (CRX). Coach of the Year - Krista Johnson (CRX).

Second Team Emily Hendrickson (CF), Madsy Richards (CRX), Kristie Sommer (LM), Kate Busswitz (CRP),

Saints top all-MVC volleyball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 21:52 -

Halle Lueck (CRP), Mackenzie May (DW), Kate Letkewicz (WW), Emma Gerdes (CF).

Honorable Mention Metro Only Malia Gudenkauf (CRP), Amanda Stecklein (CRP), Victoria Adkins (CRW), Kellie Walters (CRW), Britni Scholtes (CRX), Kara Zwanziger (CRX), Sami Boekhoff (LM), Sarah Renner (LM).

All-Academic Metro Only Janae Aune (CRP), Malia Gudenkauf (CRP), Alisa Gerhold (CRW), Kellie Walters (CRW), Erin Neuwohner (CRX), Britni Scholtes (CRX), Claire Tupper (LM), Emily Makinster (LM).

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team

Lauren Streets (DH), Heather Splinter (DH), Mollie Mason (ICW), Madi Meier (CRK), Amanda Ollinger (CRJ), Michaela Nelson (ICH), Anna Fluent (CRK), Laynie Whitehead (ICW).

Athlete of the Year - Lauren Streets (DH). Coach of the Year - Randy Dolson (DH).

Second Team Haley Van Cleave (DH), Karrah Davis (DH), Mikaela Morgan (ICW), Toni Martins (ICW), Alexa Aldrich-Ingram (ICH), Ruth Grace (ICH), Brinley Milbrath (CRK), Keke Pledge (CRJ).

Honorable Mention Metro Only Kaylie Zitek (CRJ), Kayla Jaschen (CRJ), Jadyn Gilson (CRK), Niki Dean (CRK).

Saints top all-MVC volleyball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 21:52 -

All-Academic Metro Only Brenna Parke (CRJ), Ashley Rayer (CRJ), Madi Meier (CRK), Jordan Holmes (CRK).