Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 28 July 2014 13:24 -

Cedar Rapids Kennedy junior Zach Daniels has been named the Athlete of the Year in the Mississippi Division on the Mississippi Valley Conference all-star baseball teams.

Daniels is hitting .471 for the state-bound Cougars with 32 RBIs and 22 stolen bases in 23 attempts. He also has an 8-1 record on the mound with a 1.02 ERA.

Daniels, a second baseman when he's not pitching, was joined on the Mississippi Division first t eam by pitcher Sammy Lizarraga and shortstop Derek Jacobus of Kennedy.

Spencer Van Scoyoc of Jefferson made the Mississippi Division first team in the outfield.

Pitcher Ryan Flaherty, first baseman Adam Pick, infielder Colin O'Connell and outfielder Bryce Grimm of Xavier were named first team in the Valley Division.

Third baseman Johnny Dobbs and Matt Troendle of Washington also made the top unit in the Mississippi Division. They were joined by outfielder Manny Jeffery from Linn-Mar.

Kennedy Coach Bret Hoyer and his assistants were named the Mississippi Division Staff of the Year.

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Zach Daniels, Kennedy

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 28 July 2014 13:24 -

Staff of the Year - Bret Hoyer, Kennedy

FIRST TEAM

P - Sammy Lizarraga (Kennedy), Nick Gallagher (IC West)

C - Devin Raffensperger (IC West)

1B - David Fitzgerald (Hempstead)

IF - Zack Daniels (Kennedy), Derek Jacobus (Kennedy), Mitch Crimmins (Hempstead)

OF - Spencer Van Scoyoc (Jefferson), Kevin DeLaney (IC West), Alex Gross (IC West)

U - Austin Clemens (Dubuque Senior), Chris Tomkins (Hempstead)

SECOND TEAM

P - Tyus Adkins (IC West), Blake Hargens (Kennedy)

C - David Janes (Dubuque Senior)

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 28 July 2014 13:24 -

1B - Declan Doyle (IC West)

IF - Grant Ewing (IC West), Sam Noel (Dubuque Senior), John Magnuson (Waterloo East)

OF - Jase Grant (Dubuque Senior), Brock Hatzky (IC West), Tucker Mai (Dubuque Senior)

U - Marcus Colbert (Jefferson), Dan Millius (Hempstead), Nile Ringen (IC High)

HONORABLE MENTION

Metro Only

Jefferson - Lucas Larson, Spencer Hunt

Kennedy - Ben Sass, Matt Stevens

ALL-ACADEMIC

Metro Only

Jefferson - Drew Johnson, Michael Neuberger

Kennedy - David Pauls, Nathan Althoff

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 28 July 2014 13:24 -

VALLEY DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - J.T. Sole, Cedar Falls

Staff of the Year - Jack Sole, Cedar Falls

FIRST TEAM

P - Michael Kuntz (Cedar Falls), Ryan Flaherty (Xavier)

C - J.T. Sole (Cedar Falls)

1B - Adam Pick (Xavier)

IF - Hunter Schiefelbein (Cedar Falls), Colin O'Connell (Xavier), Johnny Dobbs (Washington)

OF - Jared Deines (Cedar Falls), Manny Jeffery (Linn-Mar), Bryce Grimm (Xavier)

U - Matt Hoffmann (Wahlert), Matt Troendle (Washington)

SECOND TEAM

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 28 July 2014 13:24 -

P - Brady Corson (Cedar Falls), Nolan Even (Xavier)

C - Nolan Arp (Xavier)

1B - Austin Miller (Cedar Falls)

IF - Luke Mozena (Cedar Falls), Jake Oglesby (Wahlert), Ryan Wyant (Linn-Mar)

OF - Caleb Reimer (Linn-Mar), Landen Akers (Washington), Jalen Rima (Prairie)

U - Nolan Timp (Wahlert), Trey Beckman (Prairie)

HONORABLE MENTION

Metro Only

Prairie - Ben Milks, Cal Clark

Washington - Trey Leonard, Chris Harrington

Xavier - Logan Clarahan, Jake Robinson

Linn-Mar - Jackson Jacobs, Ben Larson

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 28 July 2014 13:24 -

ALL-ACADEMIC

Metro Only

Prairie - Nick Benson, Jacob Sprengeler

Washington - Alec Nichols, Eric Loeffelholz

Xavier - Logan Clarahan, Adam Pick

Linn-Mar - Thomas Niemeyer, Nic Redmond